Book Giveaways and Monthly Writing Contest Update


This isn’t going to be a super long post, but I have a few things to put out to everyone and need your feedback.  It has come to my attention that not all of my blog visitors realize there is a book giveaways page.  After having a couple of authors mention they have books to give for free, I thought it was time to let everyone know once again that the page is there. Use it!

There are a lot of great books in various genres to choose from.  You can find paranormal, fantasy, contemporary, thrillers, sci-fi and many more.  Please check it out and take advantage of the offers.  Some of them are for a limited time so don’t miss out.  You can’t beat getting something for free!  Also, remember to check back from time to time, more get added regularly.  The newest will always be at the bottom of the page since the authors post them on their own through the comments section.

Now to discuss the monthly writing contests.  I have already written out the stipulations for this month.  This is normal as I like to have them prepared early, but with the holidays coming up it seems even more important.  I need feedback from you all.  With Thanksgiving less than two weeks away and Christmas/New Years coming up next month, it probably means a lot of you are going to be busy.  I normally give one week to write and submit stories, but it is always during the last third of the month.  All the holidays are falling under that same time frame.  Not all my contestants are from the United States, so Thanksgiving may not be a problem for them, but Christmas and New Years might (depending on religion, etc).

For the holiday season, I am willing to extend the contest and give more time for writing the stories, if that is what you all want.  I’m all about a democratic decision on this, so I’m going to put up a poll and let you all decide when it should begin for these next two months.  It will only apply for them before going back to the normal time frame in January.

Also, I’m adding one more award to the contest.  From now on, the first place winner will still get a $20 Amazon gift-card, but the second place winner will also get a $10 Amazon gift-card.  I figure this way it gives even more incentive to do your best.  The winner announcement will still only show the first place story (and the one trophy picture), but it will also announce the runner-up.  Should there ever be a tie (hasn’t happened yet, but it could) then there will be a tie-breaker voting round.  I’ll decide how that is to be handled should it come up.

In addition to this, I’m considering making official certificates to mail to finalists and winners.  If you all like that idea, please leave a comment letting me know.  I would make it retroactive to past contestants if they would like them as well.  It will be done by slow-mail, though, so it will be up to those individuals as to whether they are willing to send me their address so I can get it to them (even if they live outside the US).  I would like them to look nice and official, so emailing them wouldn’t work.  Please let me know what you all think!

Here is the poll for you all to vote on the contest timing.  I’ll close it late tomorrow night (Sunday, November 12th) and base my decision on whichever answer gets the most votes.

~ by Suzie on November 12, 2011.

One Response to “Book Giveaways and Monthly Writing Contest Update”

  1. I want to enter to win books.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,688 other followers

