Your Favorite Quote from a Book…..


Have you ever seen a quote in a book that just stayed with you?  Better yet, you wrote one yourself that came from your creativity, imagination or thoughts.  Perhaps it was funny.  Maybe it was profound.  Possibly, it just spoke to you in some way.  Whatever the case may be, this is your chance to share it with us.  I know I have my favorites that are certainly memorable.  Now I’m asking you to post yours.  Here are the rules:

1) The quote must be between one to five sentences, but no more than that. We want to keep it fairly short.

2) It can be from your own book or writing  (though you should state that).

3) The quote can also be from any other book, poem, etc, so long as you attribute the author and title beneath it.

4) You can post more than one quote, but each one should be a separate comment on this thread.

Those are the rules.  Have fun with this.  I will look forward to your posts and will be adding my own.

~ by Suzie on June 15, 2011.

46 Responses to “Your Favorite Quote from a Book…..”

  1. Hi, Susan. One quote (as I remember it) is from Ernest Hemingway.

    He said, “Write as well as you can, and finish what you start.”

    That one has been with me for the last 25 years. I like to think I have lived it, more or less 🙂

  2. Well, this one is from my book “Which Way to the Manor?” “No writers were harmed in the production of this book… But perhaps they should have been”.
    – M.L. Steger

  3. “This team is more than a team―it is a family.”

    From our book, Call Sign: Wrecking Crew (Storm Warning)
    Part I: Operation Sandstorm
    Chapter 2 (near the end of the chapter – it’s a Kindle without page numbers)

    This may not be profound to everyone but anyone who has been in the military understands it. I’m sure Firefighters understand it. Most certainly Dee Henderson understands it…just look at the O’Malley Chronicles.

    • Lynn, the quote you gave can be very true sometimes. I certainly experienced it during my eleven years in the Army.

      • Susan, so glad you understand.

        I was in the Air Force for almost 7 years. My ex was in the Air Force then in the Army Reserve/Guard depending on where we were at any given time. He got enough points to retire a few years ago. His best friend was in the Navy then went in the Air Force and recently retired. My co-author was in the Navy for I forget how many years. I have a couple other high school classmates that retired from the service.

    • I’ve even had a few jobs that were like that!

  4. Here is one of my favorite:

    I take a long slug of coffee from the travel mug in my hand. “Will to live… returning,” I say. “Damn, Thought I had it beat this time.”

    “The day’s still young.”

    “Thanks for reminding me.”

    -From “Killing Rocks” by DD Barant (book three of the Bloodhound Files), p.3, location 82 on Kindle

    • I haven’t read this author – I see I’m going to have to remedy that!! I love that type of humor.

      • MM, if you knew the context, you would find it even more funny. The woman who is drinking the coffee is human. She was pulled from an earth exactly like ours into an alternate earth that the population was only one percent human. The other 99% were either werewolf or vampire. The reason they brought her is because they needed an FBI profiler to catch a human serial killer who was killing vamps and weres. They will not let her return to her own earth until she catches the killer. Not a happy woman to say the least!

  5. Here is another favorite:

    “Statistics show that most mortals sell their souls for five reasons: sex, money, power, revenge, and love. In that order.”

    -from “Succubus Blues” by Richelle Mead, location 60 on the Kindle (first page of the first chapter)

  6. This quote I got from a friend. It is from the Marquis De Sade.

    “That gentle melancholy which leads one to love books and solitude,
    all attributes which Nature seems to grant only to individuals for whom
    it is keeping unhappiness in store.”

  7. I came across this quote while preparing to facilitate a training some years ago and it has stuck with me ever since.

    “Justice and power must be brought together, so that whatever is just may be powerful, and whatever is powerful may be just.”

    Blaise Pascal, a 17th century philosopher, mathematician, physicist, inventor and writer.

  8. “I turned the Chrysler onto the Florida Turnpike with Rollo Kramer’s headless body in the trunk, and all the time I’m thinking I should have put some plastic down.”

    GUN MONKEYS by Victor Gischler

  9. “Never disembowel yourself with a claw hammer and never speak to Margot before noon.”

    –SPARE PARTS by Rick Hanson

  10. Wow, everyone is giving such serious, profound quotes while I’m leaving blood droplets on the page. OK, I can get profound. Here’s a quote I have pinned to a corkboard in my home office —

    “Don’t get it right, get it written.”
    James Thurber

    It’s a reminder for me just to write what comes to mind. It doesn’t have to be perfect in the first draft. I don’t even do my research or brain picking of experts until the first draft is completely done.

  11. There are some deep ones, there are some funny ones, there is some good advice, but my favorites tend to be descriptions that make me burst into laughter when I’m reading. I love witty comebacks, clever sarcasm, and downright ridiculous analogies. One of my favorites comes from a column by Dave Berry, talking about natural childbirth:

    “… the woman in the movie makes a noise identical to what you’d hear if a live yak went through a garlic press…”

  12. My all-time favorite quote isn’t from a book. It’s a variation of a line from Lord of the Rings: Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.

    That has given rise to: Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

  13. This isn’t so much a quote form a book, but mountainmama made me think of sarcasm and cutting wit, and this sure qualifies on that front:

    Gladstone to Disraeli: “I predict, Sir, that you will die either by hanging or of some vile disease”. Disraeli to Gladstone: “That all depends, sir, upon whether I embrace your principles or your mistress.”

  14. Oh, and Dorothy Parker deserves more, she was a pure vicious truth machine:

    “If you have any young friends who aspire to become writers, the second greatest favor you can do them is to present them with copies of The Elements of Style. The first greatest, of course, is to shoot them now, while they’re happy.”

    “I don’t care what is written about me so long as it isn’t true.”

    “I’ve been too f@#$ing busy – or vice versa.”

    Plenty more from her. Very funny.

  15. A favorite from Groucho Marx:

    “Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.”

  16. Another favorite from Groucho:

    “Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.”

  17. “The wind doesn’t blow. It sucks.”

  18. “They were on the side of the angels, even if the angels weren’t entirely sure that this was a good thing.”

    THE REAPERS by John Connolly

Leave a Reply

 
