“Phoenix Feather” by Angela Wallace- a must read for romance fans!


http://www.amazon.com/Phoenix-Feather-ebook/dp/B0051QFNWI/

I’m going to gush here a bit because Angela exceeded my expectations.  She is the one of my guest authors that posts the “Adventures of Teagan” on Mondays and Thursdays.  While I love those tales, her book is what is truly amazing.  It makes me feel bad for not reading it sooner!  Don’t try to say I’m biased.  I could just post the review and not say any of this other stuff, but that isn’t possible.   Her book deserves more than that.

Admittedly, paranormal romance is probably my favorite genre.  Yet this also means Angela has to live up to standards begun by my favorites like Jeanine Frost, Katie Macalister, Nalini Singh, Chloe Neill, and Patricia Briggs (there are more but I will stop there).  Now, I can’t say she beat my favorite books in the Night Huntress series (that is next to impossible to do), but she did come closer than I have seen in a long time.  I’m jaded to a certain extent within this genre because I have read the best.  Most books lately have not lived up to my expectations and more often than not I put them down before finishing.  That didn’t happen here.  Angela has won me over with her unique tale.  Not only that, but she pulled it off without a single sex-scene (I read erotica which is why this is ironic).  Give it a chance and you may just understand what I mean.  Now on to the review I posted on Amazon:

What would you do if you had to live lifetime after lifetime watching the people you care for pass away while you lived on? For Aidan Quinn, this is her reality. She has lived for millennia as a Phoenix who may take human form. Every century she dies a fiery death only to be reborn from the ashes to start a new life. Being so long-lived has not been easy for her, but she has adjusted. Life and death are natural, but for the first time in a long time, Aidan has become more attached than normal to her human friends. She must deal with the consequences of caring for people who will not be around forever. Not only this, but she meets a man, Trent, that has the potential to be something far more than a casual friend. This scares her as she has already felt the pangs of lost love before and doesn’t know if she can handle it again.

Unbeknownst to her, there is an even greater danger lurking in Aidan’s current home area of Seattle. A killer that is searching for a woman that fits her description. He has begun to murder women in the city and she could be next. Trent’s brother, Bryan, is a detective and is on the hunt for the killer before he strikes again. After meeting Aidan, he wants to protect her from being the next target, but also doesn’t want to alarm her. He knows his brother is falling for this woman and must do all he can to catch the murderer before it is too late. Yet this is no ordinary serial killer and putting the few clues together to discover his motivations will be no easy task. Whether Aidan survives to find true love and a real family of friends who accept her as she is remains to be seen.

I must say this book gripped me from early on. What kind of characteristics can you expect from someone so long-lived? Aidan wasn’t anything like I thought she would be. She felt like a real person with emotions, dreams, and regrets. While being on this earth for so long would make anyone jaded, she hasn’t let time make her apathetic. Each lifetime is a chance to start over in a new place with new goals. While her past did shape her personality, she always manages to look at many things with fresh eyes. The man she meets, Trent, is also very mature and likable. He suits her and has an old style way of courting Aidan that causes him to grow on her more than she expects. They make a great match despite their difference in age and experience. It didn’t feel awkward at all like you might expect.

The plot in itself was interesting as well. The author doesn’t just focus on the dangers of a serial killer. That is only part of the story. It is also about Aidan’s friends and new love interest. How she deals with their fragile mortality and the fact their lives could end at any time. Occasionally, I felt my eyes grow misty as the individual situations felt all too real. The author did an amazing job endearing you to every character and giving them a strong place in the story. The ending will not be what you expect, but it does show love conquers all. For anyone who enjoys romance with a paranormal twist, this is a book I highly recommend you try. Even if paranormal isn’t your normal thing, this is one book you should make an exception for. Phoenix Feather is an engaging and romantic tale that will leave you breathless for more from this author. I will certainly be grabbing her next book when it comes out!

WhipWhipWhipWhipWhip

~ by Suzie on June 26, 2011.

4 Responses to ““Phoenix Feather” by Angela Wallace- a must read for romance fans!”

  1. Great review Susan. I’ll have to give the book at look myself!

  2. Thank you so much, Susan! I’m so excited to get my first review from someone who is not a close friend or family member. 🙂 I’m really glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

 
