Blog Updates Including Future Writing Contests


After running the poll a few days ago, I have considered all the votes on whether to hold another contest in the future.  It looks like the majority would like to see a contest conducted once a month.  I decided on the next one beginning with a tentative date of July 22nd.  The details will be released then.   Those who wish to submit stories for the contest will be given one week to do so.  Considering many of you lead busy lives, I thought the extra time would be nice.  One change will be in the word-count limit since some of the last entries ran very close.  Still not naming names, but they know who they are!  The next one will allow for up to 750 words.  That should give a bit more breathing room.  I have already chosen the next strange stipulations and it should be fun!  Hopefully, as many of you as possible will be able to participate.

As an update on me, some of you have heard I started working on my own novel length story.  About a week and a half ago, an idea came to me that was so appealing it had to be written down.  I mulled it over for a while and began research over the weekend.  I’m trying to incorporate as much personal knowledge into it as possible, but there were some things that needed a lot of study.  The most important parts of that are done and I have written out a tentative outline and character list.

The next step is to actually start writing.  I’m currently about one hundred words into it, but plan to write more tonight.  The goal is to finish with a 80,000 word story (give or take a bit).  My last story (which was never published) ended up being about 57,000.  That one took me about a month to write, but it was exhausting.  Some days, I worked twelve hours non-stop getting it down.  With a lot more obligations this time around, it is doubtful I will achieve that kind of speed.  Regardless, I plan on giving you all an occasional update on it.

In case you all are wondering, I have no idea if I will ever publish it.  The last one hasn’t been read by anyone but friends.  Mostly I write for myself when there is a story idea that really appeals to me.  It is like reading a book, except it all develops in my head and on notebook  paper (or the word processor) instead.   This one falls under the urban fantasy/paranormal genres.  There will not be any romance in it, but the potential exists for future follow on books.  It is in first person, as I believe that is the best POV for an urban fantasy story that follows one main character.  I’m rather excited to get back to writing (outside of this blog).  Hope everyone else is getting along in their own writing as well!

~ by Suzie on July 5, 2011.

2 Responses to “Blog Updates Including Future Writing Contests”

  1. Yay, good luck Susan! 🙂

  2. Can’t wait to see the guidelines on this one. I’m sure you’ll come up with something interesting.

    Good luck with the writing too! Hopefully you’ll publish someday.

Leave a Reply

 
