Review of “Blue Car Racer” by Peter von Harten


http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Car-Racer-ebook/dp/B0051MHL9A/ref=cm_cr-mr-title

I’m not going to spend a lot of time explaining this book, as the review below will speak for itself. Yet I do want those following my blog to know that this is a novel you should seriously consider reading. No matter what your preferred genre is, this is one story I’m thankful to have picked up. I would almost compare it with “To Kill a Mockingbird” except the theme is a bit different. Still, there are important lessons learned, just as there was in that book. The story will remind you of the point in your life when you had to start growing up, and also, that the process never really stops.

Miracle that this is, Amazon did not delay posting this review:

The story “Blue Car Racer” begins with a fourteen year old boy starting his first day back in school. As with any kid that age, Colin has a lot of issues to deal with. Yet some of his problems aren’t exactly average. He is dealing his father’s death which occurred a few years before in the Persian Gulf War. The idea his Dad isn’t coming back is not something he wants to accept. This has caused him to become extremely introverted with no friends to draw him out of his shell. Bullies pick on him regularly and his relationship with his mom is strained. It seems nothing is going well for him.

Then one of the bullies, Eric, suddenly wants to become friends with him. Colin likes the idea of actually having someone to hang out with, but is suspicious of Eric’s change in attitude. At first things do go well, but then he realizes some things aren’t quite what they seem. His new friend, and other people in his life, are keeping secrets from him, and they aren’t trivial. While he really wants to know what they are, the discovery of them will result in life altering events.

I’m not much of one to read YA or “coming of age stories”. They aren’t my preferred type of books. Yet I took a chance and tried this one anyway. I’m glad I did. From the beginning, this story hooked me. It is told in first person through the eyes of a troubled boy. He speaks just as any kid his age would and yet the dialog feels smooth and natural. I could really empathize with what Colin was going through, even if I couldn’t relate to all of it. His experiences in the story are tough, but his reflections on them are insightful. It will take you back to that period in your own life, seeing those times with fresh eyes. As the story progresses, Colin grows from being an introverted boy to a mature young man. It amazed me how well this author captured the essence of all the characters and brought them to life. Also, the secrets revealed are not exactly what you expect. The ending is surprising and will leave you to reflect on the story long after it is over.

Blue Car Racer is an excellent novel that can be read by anyone of a mature age. It is a poignant tale that ends with important life lessons learned and a future with possibilities. This is truly a story you don’t want to miss, as it is well worth the time to read.

WhipWhipWhipWhipWhip

~ by Suzie on August 17, 2011.

9 Responses to “Review of “Blue Car Racer” by Peter von Harten”

  1. Thanks Susan. I just added it to my Amazon wish list…which keeps growing and growing.
    I also put it on my Goodreads TBR list as well.

    • I think you will like it Lynn, whenever you get a chance to read it. I was shocked that no one had reviewed the novel yet because the story is really good.

  2. Sounds like a great story Susan. Thanks for letting us know about it.

  3. Thank you so much for the great review Susan! I’m so glad you like it enough to share with everyone =) I also have the first book in a vampire series I’m working on available now, entitled “The Orphaned Ones”, which takes place in a World War II setting. You can check it out here if you’re interested: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005FX0DGS

    Thanks again! =)

Leave a Reply

 
