What Supernatural/Mythological Creature would you be?


Sorry I have been out of the loop the last couple days.  A severe migraine, followed by an upset stomach from the meds to get rid of the migraine, put me out of commission for a little while.  My stomach sometimes gets a bit intolerant of pain killers, which makes it difficult to decide which ailment I prefer to suffer from.  I’d do a review of  migraines, but I think everyone can agree there is nothing positive about them!

Anyway, I’m back now and trying to get caught up.  Thanks for your patience.  Remember today is the last day to submit your entry for the writing contest.  I will be closing the comments section tonight at Midnight (Eastern Daylight Time).  That would be Saturday at 3pm for you Aussies and 5am for the Brits.  Check back tomorrow to find out who made it into the finalist round.

Going with the Halloween theme, I thought I would post a poll asking people what creature/being they would prefer to be, if given the choice.  You are welcome to explain the reason for your pick in the comments section below.  Hopefully, you’ll find this poll fun 🙂

~ by Suzie on October 28, 2011.

21 Responses to “What Supernatural/Mythological Creature would you be?”

  1. I had to go with fairy. I don’t want to be trapped in darkness like a vampire, or hairy like a werewolf 🙂

  2. Sorry you’ve been under the weather, Susan 😦

    I’d be a mermaid, because I love the ocean – and you get to sit on a rock all day and lure handsome sailors into your clutches.

  3. I’d like to be a shapesifter, just so I can be everything. Otherwise I wouldn’t be able to decide.

    • Teagan, your vote didn’t show up for shapeshifter. You might try again so it will count!

      Can’t blame you for choosing shapeshifter, at least it is versatile.

  4. MoTDP…So sorry to hear about the migraine. That’s got to be the most miserable experience…worse that a toothache. Glad it’s over and your feeling better.

    My pick is Mermaid, definitely. All that delicious seafood, cute surfers…not to mention the surfing itself, flirting with sailors, immunity from shark attack (that’s part of the deal, they’d be like good little watch dogs). You spend all day swimming and splashing, cruise the Caribbean, head to Hawaii, hit Newport for the yacht races, over to Europe when the mood strikes. I could handle that.

    Zombie or vampire? Nah, I won’t use somebody’s comb, so there’s no way I’d eat their flesh or drink their blood. Feh. Witch/Warlock…too much like hard work, learning the spells. And besides, the two witches I know don’t seem to have any good spells. One works at the supermarket as a checker, and the other works at IHoP. You’d think witchcraft would pay better or have some decent perks, but no. Dragon, nah, living in a cave isn’t so terrific and again, there’s that eating human flesh thing. Not for me. That would also leave out werewolf, and if you’re not a werewolf, what are you? A rabbit? Badger? Shapeshifters just don’t have any fun, They’re either an endangered species or they end up as roadkill on the freeways. Fairies are such tiny little things, fluttering around bluebells in the garden and sprinking fairy dust on the cobwebs. Booorrrring. Plus if you’re only 7″ or 8″ tall, a bug would be like a horse, and i’m afraid of bugs.
    And ghost, I dunno. Clanking chains and wailing–that sounds awful. You can’t come out during the day, or you’re stuck in the graveyard or some drafty falling down old haunted house. Nope. Mermaid is the one. The lobster dinners alone make it worthwhile.

  5. MoTDP…So sorry to hear about the migraine. That’s got to be the most miserable experience…worse that a toothache. Glad it’s over and you’re feeling better.

    My pick is Mermaid, definitely. All that delicious seafood, you get to hang out with cute surfers and flirt with sailors, you have immunity from shark attack (that’s part of the deal, they’d be like good little watch dogs). You spend all day swimming and splashing around the best beaches, cruise the Caribbean, head to Hawaii, hit Newport for the yacht races, or backstroke over to Europe when the mood strikes. I could handle that.

    Zombie or vampire? I won’t use somebody’s comb, so I’m not about to eat their flesh or drink their blood. And these days, I’m lucky if I stay up for the entire 11 pm news. If I was a creature of the night, I’d have like two or three hours to get everything done before I dozed off. Nope, not for me. Plus zombies stink and decompose after a while. How fun is that? I know two witches: one works as a checker at the supermarket, and the other is a cook at IHoP. You’d think witchcraft would pay better or have some decent perks, but no. And after reading Harry Potter, it seems a career that requires way too much concentration and hard work, for little return. Nah, gonna pass on the witch deal too. Dragon…yeah, sure. Living in a damp cave at my age would just be begging for stiff joints, and again, there’s that eating human flesh thing. Disgusting. That would also leave out werewolf, which sounded tempting at first because it would mean no more waxing. But if you rule out werewolf, what other shapes do you change into: Rabbit? Badger? You’re either an endangered species, somebody’s dinner or roadkill. Fairies sound good on paper, but think about it… fluttering through the cowslips and bluebells, sprinking fairy dust and dewdrops on the cobwebs. Booorrrring. Plus if you’re only 7″ or 8″ tall, a bug would be like a horse, and i’m afraid of bugs.
    And ghost, come on, talk about miserable working conditions. Clanking around in chains all night and making those monotonous wailing sounds? You can’t come out during the day, your complexion is literally ghastly, and you’re stuck in the graveyard or some drafty falling down old haunted house. Nope. Mermaid is the one. The lobster dinners alone make it worthwhile.

    • You do have something there with the lobster thing, NyiNya. That does give it a certain bonus. Loved your explanation for why you wouldn’t choose anything else. Witches do seem to be rather poor most of the time. That is a good point.

  6. I was tempted by mermaid, as I’d love to live in the sea, but I just don’t want a fishy tail.

    • Yeah, that is a slight set back. Of course, if you go with the myth that says mermaids get legs while on land, it isn’t as bad. Otherwise, certain activities would be rather difficult!

  7. I’m with Teagan – shapeshifter all the way! Hare today and loon tomorrow. On sunny days I’d be a cat so I could bask. If I got tired of talking, I’d be a little horse. Feeling my age? I’d try being a myna. Best of all, when people ticked me off, I’d be a real bitch.

    • lol, those are some good arguments for the case of shapeshifter. Just think how you could get around traffic by flying as a bird (assuming you could re-materialize your clothes afterward).

  8. I chose Warlock. I would prefer to be in control of the supernatural powers rather than being subject to them.

    Glad you’re feeling better, Suzie 🙂

  9. Mistress, sorry to hear you haven’t been 100%… I picked Dragon because there’s a huge mythical creature standing just behind me with a look on his face which I interpret to mean “if you don’t click that one, I’m going to fry you and bite your head off…” (and when one of your self-created monsters puts it like that, what can you do?)

    p.s. thanks for putting me in the final four… I really don’t know how you were able to pick the shortlist! 🙂

    • Better to be on the safe side, Anthony. I’d hate to have a barbequed author running around this blog. Someone might think I did it!

      Gratz on making the finals 🙂

  10. I had to go with “fairy” since that’s the closest thing I could find to “elf” – which is really what I’d be if I could choose.

Leave a Reply

 
