Review for Something Secret This Way Comes by Sierra Dean


I have another paranormal book for you all.  This one turned out to be really good.  It was published by Samhain and is one of the best series I’ve seen them put out.  For those of you into Urban Fantasy, you might give it a try.  I know I’m glad I did.  Here is the review for those interested:

Secret McQueen is one woman who is unlike any other.  Her life didn’t start out under the best of circumstances and hasn’t gotten much better since.  She was born half werewolf and half vampire.  In her world, that is unheard of, making her one of a kind.  Unfortunately, Secret’s werewolf mother wanted nothing to do with her from the beginning which meant her human grandmother raised her instead.  It wasn’t all bad growing up, but she certainly had to adapt to both sides of her heritage that gave both strengths and weaknesses.  She can’t handle the sunlight and needs blood to survive, but also has some werewolf urges.  Now, as an adult, it makes for one very interesting woman.  One that isn’t happy about her outcast status.  She doesn’t quite belong anywhere.

So at sixteen Secret set off on her own, bitter about her identity and wanting a bit of revenge.  If it hadn’t been for the vampire attack that nearly killed her mother while pregnant with her, she wouldn’t have many of the problems she does.  This made her become a bounty hunter for the vampire league after they realized she had no qualms about killing them.  At least that way they had some control over who she took out.  She has been working the job ever since under the guidance of another vampire hunter who has been a close mentor.

Now at 22 years old, things are about to take a drastic change in her life.  A vampire nemesis of hers is determined to finally finish her off and he has grand plans once she is out-of-the-way.  Secret must stop him before it is too late.  That isn’t all that is thrown at her, though.  She also discovers that she is mystically bonded with not one, but two werewolves, one of them being the king of the East Coast Pack.  They don’t know about her vampire half and that is the way she wants to keep it.  Yet it isn’t going to be easy hiding her werewolf half from the vamps while hiding the vampire half from the weres.  Secret has a lot on her plate if she wants to stay alive, not to mention manage some kind of romantic life.

I must say this book turned out much better than I expected.  Secret is a woman with a lot of conflict in her life, but she handles it fairly well, despite the occasional stumbles along the way.  This isn’t a woman who just came into her powers, but rather one who was born to them.  She has been mastering them ever since, even if she has been suppressing the werewolf half for most of her life.  She is brave, tough, and smart.  Yet unlike many other heroines in Urban Fantasy, she isn’t full of snark.  Something I appreciated since that seems to have become almost too standard for the genre.  She knows her weaknesses and does get scared when things get too dangerous, but she also gives as good as she gets.  Secret is a solid, well-developed character that seemed more realistic than may others do.

There are some who may find her love life somewhat objectionable.  It was one of the things I worried about as I prefer heroines to be monogamous.  She has two werewolves that are bonded to her (both being close friends) and I’m not sure how this is going to play out.  The triangle problem didn’t fully develop in this first book, but I’m guessing that she might be able to pull it off.  The only trouble being that there are hints another man of a different species may come into the picture as well.  That causes some worry as to how far this is going.  Those who have read the Anita Blake series or Riley Jenson understand the significance.  So far, though, she hasn’t actually “fallen” for anyone so the outcome remains to be seen.  There were a couple of hot sex scenes, but they weren’t ménage.  The prospect of a character getting into multiple relationships normally bothers me, but doesn’t feel awkward in this series.  Somehow, the author is pulling it off and I’m willing to keep reading to see what happens next.

For those of you who enjoy Urban Fantasy/Paranormal books with tough heroines, you might want to check this one out.  It has a unique world that isn’t just a copy of the many others out there.  I believe it could become one of the next big series for followers of the genre to get into.  It is full of action, suspense and drama, grabbing your attention from the beginning and not letting go.  I enjoyed it so much I plan to grab the next novel, “A Bloody Good Secret,” right away.

WhipWhipWhipWhipWhip

~ by Suzie on November 19, 2011.

8 Responses to “Review for Something Secret This Way Comes by Sierra Dean”

  1. Hey, what happened to your “like” button? Anyway, sounds great. 😀

    • I took it off. Some random people were sropping by occassionally amd just clicking like but not commenting. I discovered some other bloggers for WordPress go around “liking” people’s blogs without even reading them just to trick you into checking theirs out. This became apparent after I went to their blogs and saw tons of comments where other people like me were asking how the person found their blog. It ticked me off so I removed it. Didn’t do much good, though, because apparently you can still click “like” at the top of the screen. So they keep doing it. I’m just not falling for it anymore.

      • Wow, that’s sad. I use the like button when I can’t think of anything to say, but want to show that I was there. 😛 Now I know about the button at the top! Lol.

        • I knew there were people like you who used the like button as it is supposed to be used. It was just ticking me off that random strangers were using it just to try and lure me to their blog. If they at least read and made a good comment, stopped by a couple times, maybe I would. Yet right now I’m already following over thirty blogs and can’t hardly keep up on those. So taking the button away was my effort to put a stop to it. Of course, that was an epic fail since I didn’t consider the one up top would stay. At least you know where it is now, so something good came from it all!

  2. It does sound good, Susan!
    Thanks for giving us a heads-up on another good book!

  3. Stormcaller is with my publisher now, Susan. Just waiting for a release of funds to go to ebook …
    Which, I hope, will be soon now.

Leave a Reply

 
