Coffee… it’s a curse I tell you!


Here I sit, like any other day, and the thought of coffee has entered my mind… once again.  If you are anything like me, you love the yummy goodness that is coffee.  Not only that, but you like it at any time of the day (or night).  Yes, some people complain they can’t sleep if they have too much caffeine before bed, but that has never been a problem for me.  I can drink a full can of Monster (the energy drink) and sleep soundly afterwards.  My dreams might be a bit weird, but at least I’ll be entertained during my rest.

So what is the big problem?  Well, for one you can’t just grab a cup of coffee whenever the mood strikes you.  First it has to be brewed.  Yes, you could reheat the leftover stuff from the last pot, but we all know that doesn’t taste so good and should only be done in emergency cases.  Some of you might claim there are no emergency cases, but I promise there are (for me anyway).  The problem is I’m one of those people with a sensitive stomach and coffee can be hard on it.  I can only handle one cup every few hours (except in the morning where I manage two).  Naturally this makes for a problem since you have to brew it and we already covered what happens when it gets cold.  I’d rather have the fresh stuff.

This means several times a day I argue with myself about whether or not to brew another pot, since it is practically a waste when one only needs a solitary cup.  My coffee maker is nothing fancy.  The fact it has a timer on it is a luxury!  Some of you would probably judge me for happily drinking Folgers, but I’ll take that any day over Starbucks.  Now, if I had the time and inclination, I might pick up some Seattle’s Best because they do have really good coffee.  It’s just that in my area, getting theirs isn’t so easy with Borders closed now (where all of the Seattle’s Best used to be for my state).  Maybe I could have it shipped to me, but I haven’t gotten around to it, and buying Folgers is just easier in the long run (and cheaper with this economy).

Anyway, I’m left with the dilemma as to what to do.  I’m sitting here gazing at the picture I’ve got posted above (maybe that wasn’t such a good idea) and my willpower to ignore the siren call of coffee is diminishing by the second.  Many readers and writers are addicts of this great and refined beverage, so maybe you can relate.  I know this post isn’t really about writing or books, unless you count my writing my thoughts out and forcing them on you fine folks.  Yet, I’m sure some people are now cursing me for this topic as they are now contemplating the same thing.  For those who aren’t, I don’t want to hear it.  All you people who have chosen to forgo coffee and remove it from your life are not the target audience of this post.  In fact, I want to curse you all for having the strength to abstain from the stuff.  Go away.  Far, far away, as I’m not speaking to you!

Thanks for listening in.  That will be all for now.  I’m off to the kitchen for something to drink.  Something hot and aromatic…

~ by Suzie on February 11, 2012.

18 Responses to “Coffee… it’s a curse I tell you!”

  1. 10.40pm here… Sitting with large glass of French white wine AND a coffee!!!

    Analysis spot on.

  2. Try it with a shot of Woodford Reserve Kentucky Bourbon some time. It’s good for what ails ya.

  3. Lol. And here I am without my “like” button. 😛 That was very amusing, Susan. It even almost rhymed at some points, or at least flowed with a borderline poetic rhythm.

    I drink one cup a day from the instant packets. 😛 So far, I don’t get headaches when I do that. 🙂

    • Some people still manage to like posts, though I can’t figure out how they are doing it. Drives me nuts so I just ignore it, lol.

      I was in a semi-poetic mood so it must have shown through. Glad you enjoyed it. Used to drink instant myself, but gave it up as it wasn’t as good. If I must drink instant, Nescafe is the way to go. No idea how you survive on one cup a day. I get migraines if I don’t have at least two!

      • I only started drinking coffee last August. Before that, I’d never touched the stuff. I’m very picky, and will only drink my Taster’s Choice vanilla flavored coffee, lol. I think the one cup works on my headaches in addition to the other stuff I’m doing, like no longer eating wheat. I’m gradually becoming more healthy overall.

  4. This is why I am a Pepsi Max person, or if desperate, Coke. You can have your fix cold, warm or at any time without the brewing saga. However, it will never, ever, ever smell as wonderful. I don’t actually drink coffee but the smell is heavenly.

    • How could you not drink coffee, Cate? It is the greatest thing in the world (plus it does smell good like you said). There is the advantage that cold drinks are easier, I’ll give you that! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. Coffee is mana from heaven – pure ambrosia! There are many ways around the problem but my own one would be to get an espresso machine! Each helping of the sweet nectar takes a fraction of the time to prepare compared to the standard filter or perculator!

    Happy drinking!

    • Absolutely right about coffee, Andrew. I’ve heard those expresso machines are good. Maybe I can talk the husband into one for my birthday. That’s only five long months away!

      Thanks for stopping by and happy drinking to you as well!

  6. Susan, my sisters and I have a Keurig, and it’s wonderful! Those things brew one cup of coffee at a time – so … cup of coffee in the middle of the day, and you don’t have to brew a whole pot just for that one blissful cup. Plus … you can get all kinds of flavored coffees.
    There may be other kinds of one-cup coffee brewers. Keurig’s just the one I’m most familiar with.
    As for the value of coffee … I consider it one of the Essential Food Groups.

    • I’m with you there, P.L.! But for me, one of the real joys is creating my own bean blends — the morning isn’t complete without the smell and sound of the grinder doing its work. Right now, I’m enjoying a blend of Medium Roast Kenyan blended with a bit of dark Ethiopian and some New Mexico Pinon Roast, for that smoky taste! Pure pleasure.

  7. I drink DeCaf now for health reasons, it is not the same, and the charge is not there, but I feel it is better for me. When I stopped regular coffee I had headaches and dizzy spells for about a week.

    Was kind of rough.

    DS

  8. Richard, your bean blends sound wonderful! And I do love the aroma of fresh-ground coffee, especially in the morning. As for decaf … I can taste the difference, and decaf doesn’t taste as good to me. Guess I’ll never go that route. And cinnamon roll or danish is the perfect go-with.

  9. Decaff? It’d be like eating wax fruit! *shudder*

    I find if I ever get given decaff that:
    a) Tastes awful
    b) I end up with a migraine.

    Full strength, full taste!

  10. It’s gotta be full caff for me, Andrew! I drink coffee for the energy as much as for the flavor – and I do enjoy the flavor!
    Interestingly, I’ve read that the longer coffee is roasted, the easier it is on the stomach. Because roasting gets rid of of the acidic stuff. So … full roast, the darker the better!

Leave a Reply

 
