What are you reading right now?


It’s been a long time since I’ve done this, so I thought I’d give everyone a chance to post the books they are currently reading or read recently.  Tell us if you like(d) them or if it’s tough going.  Let us know if the novel is something you’d recommend to others.  Maybe even a little something of what it’s about, if you’re so inclined.

I’ll be honest and say I don’t post reviews on every single book I read because doing that would be exhausting.  It takes me an hour and a half to two hours to write each one.  Mostly it is for the ones I feel inspired to do so, or the novel has few reviews and could use another one.  Because of this, you all don’t see everything I read on here.  The following is a list of novels I’ve read in the last few weeks:

1) Iced by Karen Marie Moning (5 stars)

2) Demon Revealed by Connie Suttle (5 stars)

3) A Lesson in Sacrifice by Jennifer Connors (4.5 stars)

4) The Shattered Dark by Sandy Williams (I’m having trouble with this one so I haven’t finished yet.  Loved its predecessor, The Shadow Reader, though)

5) A Demon Bound by Debra Dunbar (4.5 stars) review here

6) A Few Demons More by Kim Harrison (3 stars– I’m so pissed off at the ending on this one I won’t read any more of the series)

7) Sleight of Hand by Mark Henwick (5 stars) review here

8) Earth Tones by Angela Wallace (4 stars)

9) Biting Cold by Chloe Neill (4 stars)

10) Fated by Alexandra Anthony (2 stars– the lack of any plot brought this one down) review here

I may be missing something, but these are most of the ones I’ve read in the last month.  You don’t need to be so detailed, but feel free to mention any you think are noteworthy.  I’ll look forward to hearing from you!

~ by Suzie on November 12, 2012.

17 Responses to “What are you reading right now?”

  1. I am a teacher and my students are doing independent reading this year. So to make it fair and to make them stop complaining, I’m reading the books I’m assigning to them. I just finished “ruby holler” by Sharon Creech which i would give 4 stars. There were too many questions left unanswered at the end. Currently I am finishing “The Wanderer” by Sharon Creech. This one is interesting so far, but I have to finish it before I can rate it.

    I feel a little lame commenting with my middle school reading list, but unless you want to hear about teacher books I read, this is what I got. 😉

    • Thanks for stopping by. I’ll admit I tend to focus on adult fiction here on the blog, but you’re welcome to discuss whatever you enjoy reading. There are folks here who read MG and YA, so don’t feel afraid to list those 🙂

  2. I’m reading Zomblog on my Kindle. It’s decent. Which in zomblit, is rare and wonderful to find. The zombies are romero-esque, which is essential. There is no endless listing of weaponry and calibres, the gore is not so that you lose your lunch, despite a few attempts to be shocking. But if you have read more than five zombooks, you’ve pretty much done the zombaby, or worse, unborn zombaby. I tend to skip over the too gory details myself. And best of all, no endless “and then we stopped for gas and there was a zombie so I killed it with my hammer/arrow/sword (description of head exploding, gore spouting, skull stomping), so we drove a while and then we stopped for lunch and there were six zombies so I killed them with my hammer/arrow/sword (description of head exploding, gore spouting, skull stomping),” Ad infinitum. In fact, I suspect this book was actually written by someone who is past puberty, another rare score in the world of zomblit. Worth the $2.99.

    In Realbook Books, I started reading Passages by Justin Cronin , but got kind of mired in the beginning which is interesting, but endless. Three days into the book and we are still setting the stage. So I dug out an old Robert Benchley collection to see if he was still funny. He is.

    Just finished reading V is for Vendetta, the latest Sue Grafton entry in her Kinsey Milhone Alphabet books. It was only okay. If you wish to step away from the Urban Fiction genre, give up the goth, leave the undead to their own devices for a while and just read something good, check out Joe Mitchell’s “Up At the Old Hotel.” A friend nagged me for a year to read this old collection of New Yorker essays. It was wonderful, from beginning to end. Nice to check in with really good writing now and then and remember what it’s like.

    Going to go back to Passages and give it one more chance to go someplace.

    I know this is a spot for vampire lovers, but if anyone has any really good zombie recommendations, they are my guilty secret pleasure (along with Real Housewives of New Jersey and fried pork skins) and I would appreciate your input.

    NN

    • I’m glad you found a decent zombie novel, NN. I know how hard you try to find them. One of the authors I really like has a zombie series going, but I just can’t bring myself to try it. In this case, the main character is a white trash zombie, interesting but not for me. I love almost all paranormal except for that stuff. Sad but true, lol.

      About seventy-five percent of the time I’m reading paranormal/urban fantasy books. Every so often I just get tired of them and can’t take any more so I turn to historical romance and sci-fi romance. That lasts anywhere from a few weeks to a month before I turn back to the usual. There are also odd moments where I read nothing but erotica, which is about the only non-paranormal I’ll read set in the present day. As for contemporary, I almost never read it except once or twice a year when something grabs my attention and I’m in a rare mood. Basically lightening strikes at just the right moment. I always feel bad when people ask me to read their work outside my usual genres because my taste is so picky.

      Good luck with your current read. Hope it works out for you!

  3. 3 days ago I proofed an unreleased book for an indie author. 2 days ago I finished a re-read of my latest release. Yesterday I started book 2 of Shelly Laurenston’s Pride series: The Beast In Him. I love that Laurenston has aggressive females, smexy scenes, and LOL humor throughout each book. I read her Magnus Pack books before and loved them too. I highly recommend any of them.

    • Hey, Dicey. I’ve been considering reading Shelly Laurenston. The problem with her work is I can be really wishy-washy on what shapeshifter/were books I like. The reviews have me unsure whether to take the chance. I may wait until I’m really craving that type of novel so the chance of enjoying it will be the highest. I’m glad to hear you enjoy it, though, since we share similar interests. That speaks well for the odds I might like it!

  4. I just finished reading the Hunger games Trilogy! Now a friend suggested the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher…I am on Book 1 Storm Front.

    • The Hunger Games was great. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. I hate to say I couldn’t get into the Dresden Files. I kept thinking it would be so much better if the lead had been female. In this sense, I’m really sexist because I prefer a female POV for my Urban Fantasy series. In fact, the only paranormal books I can think of off the top of my head that I loved and had strong male leads in them were Lothaire by Kresley Cole and Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon. Those were really great, but they were romances and you did get part of the story told from the heroine’s POV, so it wasn’t just a male narrator. Plus both guys had been built up over a series of previous books so you really wanted to read their story. I’ve heard a lot of raving over Jim Butcher’s work, though, so hopefully you’ll have better luck with it 🙂

  5. But, the real book I recently read that I loved loved loved was called Lost in the sand By Shanna Ahmad. http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10799063-lost-in-the-sand

    • Travel Gypsy, that book does look like it would be good. I read a lot of books that are about Iraqis and Kurds. This is partly because I served in Iraq with the U.S. Army, partly because my major was history with a focus on Middle Eastern studies, and partly because I’m married to an Iraqi (one of his aunts is Kurdish, though most of his family is Arab). I may have to check that one out. Thanks for mentioning it.

  6. Just finished an awesome erotica parody – Fifty Shades of Alice in Wonderland. I’ll have the review up Friday. Now I’m doing a lot of non-fiction research, but I need to pick out something from my TBR pile for this weekend.

    LOL – I’m actually in research on a Zombie series I’m writing. Not the gore/brain eating kind of zombie though. It’s called Dead Shift, and the zombie is a cop, killed while on patrol.

    • Debra…glad you will be giving zombie fans something to look forward to…I’ve seen one or two Zombie POV books but haven’t looked at them…now I’ll wait for yours. I hope you will keep us posted on your progress!

      NN

      • NN, her demon books are halarious (while still having some depth to them). The main character in them has a similar sense of humor to you. I imagine you might like a zombie book written by Debra. She’d be worth holding out for.

  7. I’m currently reading No Easy Day… by Mark Owen. I feel sure most everyone has heard of that book, for those that haven’t it is an Autobiography/Memoir of a Navy SEAL who made it into the elite DEVGRU (aka SEAL team Six) and was on the mission that took out Osama Bin Laden. I’m really enjoying it because I get a feel of how a SEAL thinks and acts. The part that I appreciate the most though is the very beginning when he explains why he went in the service and the hoops he went through to write the book and the reasons for writing the book.

    I also started reading Doing Max Vinyl by Frederick Lee Brooke… I really like it as well. It has a lot of things going on which I hope that when I finish the book I will figure out how they all interconnect.

    I don’t read as fast as some people do and I do make an effort to write reviews of each book I read now. I’ll admit that I’m not an in-depth reviewer but more along the lines of how I feel about the book in general. I so hate giving too much of a book away. If you want to know what books I’ve read, you can find them on Goodreads.

    http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4950577.Lynn_Hallbrooks

    I will admit that on occasion I will write a review of Children’s books…that I’ve read with my 5 year old Godson. He may be in Kindergarten but that kid can read like nobody’s business… when he wants to do so.

    • Hey, Lynn! Good to see you. I hope you had a productive trip and things with the book are coming along. As for reading, we all go at the pace we are comfortable with. I’ve talked to some people who read a new book every single day. No idea how they do it. If I really get into a series I just found, then I can do a book a day until I’ve gotten through them all, but otherwise it varies. Some months, if I’m writing a lot, I don’t read more than one. With your busy schedule I’m sure you don’t have time to go through them fast.

      I’m going to skip over commenting on the Mark Owen book because that will get me on a tangent of epic proportions. My Army friends and I don’t have the most positive feelings for him, lol. There is nothing wrong with reading children’s books if you have a kid in the house. I think it’s wonderful you spend time with your Godson reading to him. It’s important to lay that foundation early so he’ll go on to keep reading on his own as he gets older. Writing reviews for those books is just as important as the adult ones because parents will want to know if they are good for their children. It’s great you take the time to do that.

      Hope Doing Max Vinyl turns out good for you! That’s an interesting title. I haven’t heard of it before.

      • Hi Susan. Thanks for the warm welcome. Book 2 was in serious need of reconstruction. We did that but saved the parts we can still use to make it fit together. The down side is we won’t be ready for publishing until next year. I count No Easy Day as research, so I know how a Navy SEAL thinks and acts. I get the whole Army/Navy thing. I prefer the Air Force but that’s just my own personal bias talking. 🙂

        I actually reviewed some Children’s books before I became an author because of my Godson. Back when he was 2 years old, he enjoyed being read “Rotten and Rascal”. Now a days he can read a good number of books to me and his family. The latest being “Pete The Cat”. I’ve read a few Indie Authors to him and he has enjoyed them as well. Reading is usually enjoyable to him… except when it’s homework. Then his stubborn streak kicks in. Did I mention that he’s a red head. Sometimes he reminds me of Opie Taylor with with an Irish temper. 🙂

        I think I first ran across Doing Max Vinyl on Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11377310-doing-max-vinyl over a year ago. Now I’m finally reading it. I usually only read a little bit at night before going to sleep or if I go to the VA, then I read on the train ride and while I’m waiting for my appointment time. So yes, usually not much time to read. Thanks for understanding.

  8. Update, I finished No Easy Day… by Mark Owen. I’ve posted a review on Goodreads and a commentary on my blog.

    I’m working on finishing the book, Doing Max Vinyl and I’m really enjoying it. More of the pieces of the puzzle are fitting together. I did forget to mention that there is a female combat veteran in the mixture. It also has an environmental theme through it as well.

Leave a Reply

 
