Review of “The Society of Sinners” by Charity Parkerson


I can’t believe I just now got around to checking “The Society of Sinners” out.  Charity Parkerson has managed to win three of the monthly writing contests for this blog (by popular vote) and that should have been enough to make me go read more of her work long ago.  I have no really good excuse, except I’m easily distracted, but at least I’ve finally remedied the issue.  Here is the review for any other unwise paranormal romance fans that haven’t gotten to the novel either:

In The Society of Sinners it doesn’t focus on the romantic development of just one couple, but rather, is a collection of five stories combined into one novel.  In it the reader will find multiple supernatural races, each with their own path to finding love.  At first, I admit to being a bit put off by how quickly the couples fall in love.  Normally, I like to see romance dragged out for a while.  With these stories being about 15k words each, though, they did need to step up the pace to get all the important elements fit in.  This is especially true because romance isn’t the only thing readers will find, but also plenty of obstacles for the characters to overcome–both emotional and physical.  Not to mention a bad guy who inevitably shows up in every story to make things difficult (it wouldn’t be any fun if he didn’t).  This kept the suspense going even when you knew the romance was pretty much a done deal.

Charity Parkerson doesn’t blast her readers with a ton of world building up front either like some authors.  It’s doled out in just the right measures with each character adding their individual mythology and background to form a fuller picture.  I enjoyed seeing the puzzle pieces brought together as each story progressed.  It brought me deeper and deeper into The Society of Sinners world and helped me to care about them more as I learned how they all related to each other.  Even when humans are involved, nothing is ever simple.

I must give a nod to the quirky humor interspersed throughout the novel as well, along with a sense of shamelessness amongst the characters.  They generally aren’t afraid–especially the women–to voice their inner thoughts.  If you want reserved personalities that hold their naughtiness inside, this may not be the book for you.  This novel contains twenty-first century women who aren’t afraid to say a guy is hot and demand he take his clothes off.  I’ll be honest and say I usually prefer more subtlety, but the author managed to make such behavior fun and endearing.  If I wasn’t already married and still out on the prowl…

Anyway, my favorite element of all had to be the interrelationships amongst friends.  I’ve never read a paranormal series where the romance, friendships, and sense of family came through so strong and in equal measures.  You don’t see it as much at first, but as you get through each story, it becomes very apparent.  The group of characters truly pull together in times of need.  I could feel myself getting misty eyed at the sweet moments that would crop up between all the action, sex, and drama.  It’ll make you long for a great group of friends like these who give of themselves so selflessly.  Even if they are vampires, werewolves, and other things.

They only thing I have to complain about is some typos and formatting errors (some of these may be native to my iPad because I saw a lot of blue underlined commas others might not see on a Kindle).  Luckily, they weren’t so bad as to be all that distracting.  The story telling keeps you in its grip well enough that you hardly care about them.

Beyond the above mentioned points, I must say I’m glad I gave this novel a chance.  The Society of Sinners is fast-paced, original in an over-crowded genre, and full of fun characters.  Readers who like their paranormal with a lighter touch and plenty of humor and sassiness should pick this one up right away.  I plan to be reading a lot more by this author in the future.  She’s got me hooked.

WhipWhipWhipWhip

~ by Suzie on November 14, 2012.

10 Responses to “Review of “The Society of Sinners” by Charity Parkerson”

  1. Curse you! And now my TBR pile is back up to 50!
    Maybe I’ll shuffle this one a little closer to the top :p

    • Your TBR pile can commiserate with mine, lol. I have to do a lot of shuffling too. Basically it comes down to what I’m in the mood to read at any given time, but I admit those dang Amazon recommendation emails have caused a bit of impulse buying as well.

  2. Awww, I’m so glad that you enjoyed it. I never know what proper etiquette is when I get a great review, but I love it and I love your blog so I’m probably breaking it, lol 😀

    • I never mind authors commenting on my reviews for their books here (unless they are cursing me which happened a time or two). It’s only on Amazon that it gets awkward. All I can say is I was very happy I could give your book a solid recommendation. I’m always glad to find more awesome authors to follow and I bought the sequel to The Society of Sinners this morning 🙂

      • Yay!! I hope you love it but if you don’t I promise to pretend like I didn’t see it, lol. 😀

        • I’m sure I’ll enjoy it. Regardless, I’m a lazy little reviewer so this next one won’t get a review anyway. I like to space them out since they can be time consuming. Like I have hand written notes that I took while reading yours because the points I wanted to make popped in my head while reading. I didn’t want to forget them. On the flip side, it can be nice to sit back and enjoy a book without worrying about exactly what I’m going to say later. More than likely I’ll let some time pass after reading book two and then check out some of your other novels that have fewer reviews and help them out. They’ll be honest, but I hope to enjoy them just as much. I will admit I haven’t been posting my critical Amazon reviews here on the blog anymore since the last incident so people here don’t see them unless they go to my Amazon profile. It was a judgement call, but probably for the best.

          • I don’t blame you. I have stopped reviewing altogether. I don’t enjoying reading as much as I used to because I’m always reading with a reviewers eye. Plus, I can only review on Goodreads due to the new Amazon policies and people can get downright mean on Goodreads. LOL! It’s still one of my favorite sites. I don’t love everything that I read but I was beginning to feel pressure to claim that I do, so I decided no more reviewing. I’m going to read because I love it 😀

  3. Another awesome review, Susan! I tweeted it. Dang, I am never going to get caught up on my reading with so many terrific books around!

Leave a Reply

 
