The typos that came back to bite you


I’ve been busy with reading, writing, and other things but thought I’d get something posted today for fun.  After having a conversation with an author recently about the difficulties of editing, I won’t say who (she knows who she is), it occurred to me that the topic of typos might be interesting to bring up on the blog.

No one escapes them and we all know they sneak up out of nowhere.  Leave a document for a while and you’re bound to find some that you’re sure weren’t there before.  They come out of hiding like little cock roaches.  Annoying little pests.  So here is your chance to make light of the issue and share the ones you’ve seen or done.  These could be mistakes you made or ones you found in other people’s work (let’s not name names if it’s someone else, though).  Don’t be embarrassed.  We all make them and will continue to do so.

 

Note– I read over this post several times before publishing so hopefully none show up in it.

 

~ by Suzie on November 27, 2012.

12 Responses to “The typos that came back to bite you”

  1. I opened my email over the summer to see the very first one in my inbox was from Goodreads. With the shining subject line, “You’re invited to a free e-boob event” Since I’m very close to the author that created the event, I gave her a call. I was laughing so hard when she answered the phone that I couldn’t even say hello. Thankfully, she was too. Finally, after she caught her breath, she said, “I’ve already received one invitation acceptance that says ‘Why yes, I would love a free eboob’ maybe I’ll have more downloads than ever before.”

  2. I’ve seen a lot of guys “lave” a woman with their tongue. Ouch. And suddenly the book takes that S&M turn LOL.

    I’ll admit to one of my own. The paperback of A Demon Bound had Sam tracking a “rouge” angel instead of rogue. Ugh.

    And the famous one that always makes me spit my coffee goes something like “He looked into the feces of his beautiful children, then went downstairs to pour himself a scotch.” I hope he meant “faces”, although I’ve always needed a stiff drink after dealing with my kids’ poo.

    • I think I actually remember seeing the “rouge” angel in your book, lol. I got a laugh out of it. That other example you gave was halarious as well. If I’d had coffee in hand while reading it, I would have spit it out too!

      • Okay, I just checked and there was no rouge in my version but for some reason it sounded familiar. Not sure where I might have seen it. Oh well, it’s still funny.

        • You probably bought yours after I’d processed the correction. Thankfully I have an eagle-eyed reader who isn’t shy about pointing out the typos. Think she might be my next proofreader!

      • Rouge angel was pretty funny, except that I’d paid to have the darned thing proofread!
        And the “lave” one was substituted with “lathe”.
        Yeah, I’m pretty bad at telling jokes too – always getting the punchline wrong!

        • Lol, Debra. The lave/lathe thing made me think of the movie Princess Bride when the guy was trying to substitute the word “love” to argue against saving Wesley. It sounds similar, but not quite the same!

  3. In my book Silver Lady I have a really mean, nasty outlaw named Lonny. But when proofing the ms his name invariably appeared as Loony. Needless to say, that took some of the bad edge off him, and even though he was somewhat demented, he was anything but loony. Fortunately, I caught every one of those typos before my editor did. I can just imagine her laughing her butt off over that.

    • Nancy, I would agree that the spelling difference in your case would make quite a difference in how the reader sees the character. Glad you got that fixed in time!

  4. Editing, by someone other than yourself, is a non-question for me, since my debut novel, The Red Gate. I thought I was so careful, and had just completed a final rewrite and line edit. I thought it shone. Then I made a classic blunder. I didn’t save it under a new filename. I uploaded the new file, then approved the proof much too quickly. (the file was not changed out by the POD publisher. Not their fault. One of my first reviews said that while it was a great story, the number of typos and other errors made it hard to complete the book. Oh, God noooooo! She still left it three stars for the story, and I learned a really important lesson, It took a week to repalce as many of the first edition hard copies as I could, and resubmit the corrected version, but to this day, if you dig through the reviews my book has received, you’ll find the ones that slipped through before I caught my blunder. It will live on in infamy, and in that way, I will always be embarrassed and chastened every time I check for new reviews. A word to the wise.

    • I agree, Richard. You definitely have to have more than one pair of eyes on that MS to get all the typos out! I can imagine how frustrating your experience must have been.

Leave a Reply

 
