Melissa Craig & Charity Parkerson Podcast- A fun book discussion show!


Old style microphone with designI’ve seen mentions of this show on Twitter for some time, but as I’m sure happens to many of you, I just didn’t get around to checking it out.  Earlier this week I finally got around to loading some of the podcasts onto my iPod and wanted to kick myself for not listening to the show sooner!  It’s absolutely addictive once you get started.  Charity and Melissa are hilarious and so much fun between their southern US and Australian accents.

I will warn you that they both write stories with erotic elements so their talk tends to get a little bit…naughty.  They also read excerpts from both their work and other authors novels that could be considered x-rated.  This is not a show for those under eighteen.  Also, if you are shy about such topics, it may not be for you.

Despite this, they do get a lot of listeners who follow the show and love it.  Many guest authors have appeared on there, even if romance/erotica isn’t the focus of their novels.  The interviews can be a lot of fun and a great way to promote books and discover new ones.  They also discuss the publishing industry and any news related to it, as well as giving advice to authors.  You can find a listing of their shows (and guest names) on each of their websites which will be listed further down this post.

The Melissa Craig & Charity Parkerson show airs every week.  You can listen to them in any order without feeling lost.  I discovered this blog was mentioned several times and felt bad they were promoting me without even knowing it.  I’m rectifying that now, though 🙂

I asked Charity a few questions so as to make sure I had all my facts straight before letting you all know about this fabulous show.  These are it:

1) When are the shows usually recorded?  After that, when are they made available on iTunes?

There is a 16- hour time difference between the two us, and we had to pick a time that worked for us both. Luckily, Melissa is a night owl and I’m a morning person. We record on Tuesday morning’s at 9am US central time unless we have a guest that needs a weekend date. Once the shows are edited, thanks to Melissa’s hard work, they are available on iTunes the following Tuesday.

2) Will there be a break for the holidays?

We are going to take a two-week break for the holidays, but we’ve already scheduled a few guests for January so we’ll be back with a vengeance.

3) How often do you have a guest author come on?

We try to have 3 guests a month and then do 1 show with just us girls. We’re pretty flexible since we want to make things as easy as possible for our guests.

4) How much have you seen your audience grow since the beginning?

We decided that we would never worry over the numbers. If we had zero listeners, we would still get together each Tuesday to spend the morning together. We do have regular listeners that give us feedback and Melissa keeps an eye on the rankings to gauge what people are listening to the most.

5) List the website address and Twitter account associated with the show.

All the past episodes can be found on Melissa’s and my own website.

http://melissacraigauthor.wordpress.com/podcast/

http://www.charityparkerson.com/the-melissa-craig-and-charity-parkerson-show.html

and we can be found on Twitter at https://twitter.com/TheMCandCPShow

6) Are there any future possibilities with the show that you hope to try out?

We are always open to sponsors and keeping an eye for musicians who want their music featured on the show. Several musicians have donated music and we love that. If anyone is interested in doing that, then they should email 2eroticchicks@charityparkerson.com We only ask that they take into consideration that our show has an explicit rating. We will not accept music from anyone under eighteen and if you’re offended by erotic writing then you’re probably not a good fit. This has never been an issue for us, but you never know.

Thanks to Charity for getting back to me so quickly so I could get this post put together.  I hope more people will discover this show and see how great it is.  I’ll certainly be keeping up with it from now on!  Feel free to leave comments or ask questions.  Charity is a frequent visitor to this site and will no doubt be happy to answer them.

~ by Suzie on December 15, 2012.

32 Responses to “Melissa Craig & Charity Parkerson Podcast- A fun book discussion show!”

  1. Thank you so much for listening to our show. We have so much fun together and I’m always blown away that thousands of people download our show each week in order to listen to us ramble on. 😀

  2. Reblogged this on We write so that we don't talk to ourselves and commented:
    The Mistress of the Darkpath has a blog that rocks

  3. I love listening. You two are wonderful 🙂

  4. Thank you so much for listening to our show and letting others know about it. Woo hoo! Charity and I enjoy helping out authors, readers, and listeners thinking about writing that book they have always wanted to give it a go. Plus I miss my girl if we don’t talk everyweek. We have fun and enjoy it any way we can. Thank you.

  5. Reblogged this on Melissa Craig – Erotica Author and commented:
    LOVE IT….PEOPLE ARE LISTENING.

    Thank you to the mistress of the dark path. She has done a blog post about our podcast. Damn she makes it sound as good as it does to make the show. Also thank you to my co-host Charity Parkerson I love our weekly Skype chats.
    Enjoy it any way you can!

  6. I always tell everyone that I have little pieces of my soul in Australia so I can’t wait until I sell enough books in order to be able to go see my friends 😀

  7. Something tells me your first show in January is going to be rather wild. Call it a haunch.

  8. Oh gosh, we are in so much trouble, lol

Leave a Reply

 
