Review of Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs


Frost Burned book coverHere is another book review for you all from one of my favorite urban fantasy series.  It just released March 5th.  There are no major spoilers, but if you haven’t read the previous books it will reveal a few things you may or may not want to know.  If you’ve already read Frost Burned, feel free to make your own comments.  For those who haven’t and enjoy UF, I hope you’ll be willing to give it a shot!

**************

I was very excited to finally get back into the Mercy Thompson series after a long wait.  The last novel, River Marked, had been somewhat of a letdown, but I didn’t let that lower my expectations for Frost Burned.  Thankfully, I was not disappointed.  Were back to Mercy being on her home turf and dealing with another catastrophe hitting the pack.  All she does is leave them for a few hours to go hit the Black Friday sales and they all disappear.  Not only that, but she’s left with her husband’s teenage daughter Jessie to protect.  Soon she’ll find out there is a lot more at stake than she could have imagined.

All I can say is wow.  Patricia Briggs has a way of making even the most ordinary scenes fascinating and suspenseful.  The novel might have started off as only a somewhat dangerous shopping expedition (it was Black Friday after all) but things quickly heated up.  Without the pack, Mercy was left with few allies as a lot had changed in recent months, particularly with the Fae.  I was very thankful to see Stefan have a stronger role than he’d had in a while.  I’d really missed him and I’m still hoping to see things get better for him.  There was some improvement this time around to at least console me a little bit.

Another worry I’d had is with Mercy now being married she wouldn’t be as great as before.  Many series drop off once the romance angle is settled and the last novel seemed to confirm this.  Thankfully, with Adam out of the picture for a good portion of the book it allowed Mercy to shine just like she had done in earlier novels.  It also gave a chance for other characters (some who hadn’t been around in a while) to play a stronger role.  I really enjoyed the expanded world-building that came as well.  It seems Briggs is never out of ideas for how to show the reader a few more new elements to the races in her books.  Mercy certainly learns a new trick or two with her own abilities.

For fans of Adam, not to worry.  He isn’t out of the game the whole time and there actually are some brief scenes where the reader gets to see things from his perspective.  It was great to see Mercy through his eyes.  He is so protective of her it’s cute, but he doesn’t hesitate to rely on her when he needs to.  I love a man who isn’t so insecure in himself that he won’t depend on a woman no matter the cost.  Even with his reliance on her, though, he managed to show some of his own “kick-assnes” along the way.  Adam is an Alpha after all and readers like me do want to see he can put up a good fight against his enemies.

Overall, Frost Burned was an awesome read.  Mercy is back and better than ever.  If you’re a fan of the series you won’t be sorry to give this one a shot.  If you haven’t tried it yet, you don’t know what you’re missing.  Mercy is strong, cunning, and resourceful.  She has a human element to her that makes her easy to relate to, but she’s also not afraid to be ruthless when she has to be.  Any reader who appreciates those qualities would be remiss to pass on reading these amazing books.  I give this latest one five whips!

WhipWhipWhipWhipWhip

For those who would like the series reading order, here it is:

Moon Called

Blood Bound

Iron Kissed

Bone Crossed

Silver Borne

River Marked

Frost Burned

*There is also an Alpha and Omega series set in the same world, but with a focus on different characters.  For a complete listing of all of Patricia Briggs’ books, you can visit her site here.

~ by Suzie on March 19, 2013.

8 Responses to “Review of Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs”

  1. I’ve been putting off downloading it to my Kindle because I’m too swamped right now to read it and oh-so weak to resist if it’s right there. . . calling to me.
    I love Mercy, and even enjoyed River Marked, although it wasn’t as action packed as the other books. Glad this one topped the whip-ratings chart for you! We’ve got similar tastes, so now I’m looking forward to it even more.
    Couldn’t get into the Alpha and Omega series though – characters just didn’t appeal to me.

  2. The main problem I had with River Marked was that it focused so much on Mercy and Adam that all my other favorite characters were mostly excluded. It was great to learn more about her heritage (readers needed it that far into the series) but it just didn’t feel the same as the other books.

    This latest one gets back to the things I wanted to see. Mercy saving the people she cares about as yet another problem strikes the tri-cities area. Plus it made some progress on things going on between the different races/groups. I think you’ll really enjoy it once you find the time.

    Alpha and Omega was decent to me. Not as good as the main series, but not bad either. I’d love to see Bran’s wife kick the bucket and for him to find a better woman. That would probably be worth reading 🙂

  3. Yay! Now I’m even more excited to read it. I was a little concerned after River Marked, but I’m glad to hear we get back to the awesomeness I love.

  4. Love your review of Frost Burned. And yes, this book sets the series back on track. River Marked was just… off somehow. I love Mercy as a heroine. She is just great. And getting to see a little of Adam’s POV was awesome. I loved Adam and Mercy as a couple. They are awesome.

    • Thanks, Lalo. This book almost made it worth the super long wait. I know I’m going to be looking forward to the next one!

  5. It’s a really great series. I’ve enjoyed reading Frost Burned and you are right it was much better than River Marked. Lovely review! Now I need to catch up on Alpha & Omega series as well. Apparently Fair Game was exceptionally good too 🙂

    • Thanks, Karina. You really should catch up on Alpha & Omega if for no other reason than to see what happens with Charles. It’s meant to be more of a romance, but they are still action scenes and expanded world building you don’t get to see through Mercy’s eyes.

Leave a Reply

 
