PL Blair author interview


Hey, everyone.  Today we have an interview for one of the blog regulars, PL Blair, who is the author of the Portals Series.  If you’ve ever wanted to know more about her, here is your chance.  My replies to her answers are in italics.  Please feel free to drop in and comment or ask your own questions!

.

*******

INTERVIEW:

Tell us something dark about yourself.

Something dark … I hate to admit that I’m one of these people who lead boringly ordinary lives, so … not a lot of “dark” … But still …

Okay, I have a wicked imagination – stoked on authors like H.P. Lovecraft, whose Chtulu stories remain my favorite reading. I’m seldom obvious about losing my temper; do something that gets me mad at you, and I’ll still smile and treat you – on the surface – as a friend.

But underneath the surface, in my mind, you’re hogtied in the middle of Interstate 90 up here in Sheridan, Wyo., unable to even twitch a muscle, and I’m in one of those honkin’-big semi trucks barrelin’ down on you at 80 miles an hour …

.

(Okay, I’m only slightly nervous to talk to you now)

You are on a deserted island and can only choose one beverage to have besides water.  What would it be?

Arizona brand green tea with ginseng and honey. I can’t get enough of the stuff! It’s the absolutely perfect drink!

.

(I do appreciate a good tea drinker!)

If you had to choose between a bullwhip, cat o’ nine tails, or a crop, which would you pick?

A bullwhip! I loved watching Indiana Jones wield one of those things in Raiders of the Lost Arc, and I kept thinking, I’ve gotta get me one of those! Although … if asked … my very favorite weapon would be a claymore (sword). I love blades!

.

(mmm, blades.  I like them too)

What mythical creature would you be and why?

An elf! I love elves – even before I read Lord of the Rings, I loved elves! There’s something about them that resonates with me … Their love of nature and the Earth’s wild places … The fact that they can be whimsical and fun-loving, creatures of mischief, yet solemn and majestic. And they are beautiful! I love elves so much that one of the main characters in my books – Tevis Mac Leod – is an elf.

.

(I agree, elves are great.  Though I think it’s those sexy pointed ears that do it for me)

What first inspired you to write your series?

When I decided that I needed to get my book-writing career started, I knew I wanted to write fantasy. And … I envisioned Tevis. I recognized at the start that he was an elf – part Illya Kuryakin, the Russian spy in the old Man From Uncle TV series, part Sherlock Holmes, the first fictional detective I met and still one of my favorites. (I obviously have this thing for the mysterious, cerebral types …)

I also knew from the start that I wanted a detective element in the books, because I am fascinated by police work. And I love the CSI shows on TV, so I wanted a forensics element in the books. (Of course then I short-circuited the forensics part by giving Tevis the ability to See how someone dies by laying hands on the corpse …)

The third element of my books – that I use beings and creatures that are part of our own mythologies and folklore – is the result of a lifelong love of myths and folktales.

.

(Good answer!)

How long does it usually take to research/write them?

Most of my books have been written in a period of six to eight months. A lot of my “research” for the fantasy elements of my books has been done over the years since I was a child. I love folklore and mythology, and I’ve been reading those books since I was around nine years old.

I do spend some time researching “forensics” elements that I’m not familiar with, usually when the plot calls for details I don’t have off the top of my head. So I’ve done Internet searches on questions such as “how to build a pipe bomb” and “makes of revolvers.” I also have a couple of books on forensic science.

.

(Makes me wonder how many authors are on the Homeland Security watch list because of the things they have to look up for the sake of their work!)

Give one unique fact about your series that makes it different from the others in its genre.

The concept for my books is unusual (I can’t say with certainty that it’s “unique” but I’m unaware of anything similar). It’s that wizards, elves, dragons, ogres and all the other creatures of our folklore and myths exist on a world separate from, but adjacent to, our own human Earth. The two worlds – ours and the Realms of Magic – are separated by Portals that, in ancient times, were open. So for thousands (or tens of thousands) of years, ogres and elves and dragons and wizards and all these other creatures wandered freely between the worlds, interacting with our own human ancestors. That’s why we have myths and legends about these beings.

But somewhere around a thousand or so years ago, the Portals were closed, leaving us humans with imperfect memories of these beings, and stories that get altered over time. Now, in the not-too-distant future, the Portals open again, and all of these beings are returning to our world. And with them comes their magic, which some of them use – either deliberately or unwittingly – to commit crimes …

.

(I’ve read a few other series with a similar concept, but I certainly enjoy your version.  You’ve definitely got some unique lore I haven’t seen elsewhere)

What future work do you have planned for the series and/or any other books?

Well, there’s enough material in our folklore and mythology to keep the Portals series going for quite a while!

In the near future, besides finishing the update of Sister Hoods so it can be released as an ebook, I’m pulling together notes and fragments of scenes for book 5 – which will pit Kat, Tevis and their colleagues against a band of leprechauns who have come to our world in search of the gold that’s been stolen from the band’s leader. Leprechauns are not to be messed with when their gold is involved.

At some point, I want to do something involving the Seelie and Unseelie Courts. Also fermenting in the back of my mind is … I keep getting visions of a dragon perched on Cloud Peak – that’s a peak in the Big Horn Mountains just west of Sheridan, Wyo., where I’m living these days. I know it’s a bit far for Kat, Tevis & Company to travel – from South Texas to Wyoming – but I just can’t get the dragon image out of my head.

Other than the Portals books, I’m revising – at my publisher’s request – a high fantasy manuscript that I wrote several years ago. It’s about three brothers and a struggle for a kingdom, and – oh, yeah – the rulers of this world are Dragonlords, humans with an ability to assume the form and powers of dragons. It’s the first book of a planned trilogy, so I’m excited to see where it will go …

.

(How cool!  You know the current writing contest for this blog includes leprechauns.  It’ll be interesting to see what you do with them.  As for dragons in Wyoming…why not?  I bet it would make their local zoo more interesting if they could capture them.  Good luck with the new trilogy.  It sounds fun!)

.

*****

Thanks, Pat, for taking the time to answer my questions.  It’s really great to put the spotlight on you and your work 🙂

*****

.

Pat_Blair author photoAUTHOR BIO:

A native of Tyler, Texas, P.L. Blair is author of a series (Portals) of fantasy/detective novels, blending urban fantasy, police procedural and the occasional touch of horror. She lives in Sheridan, Wyo., with a family that includes three dogs and a cat, all rescues.

.

.

.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.

PORTALS SERIES SUMMARY:

Gateways have re-opened between our human world and a near-twin world, the Realms of Magic, which is home to all of the beings of our folklore and mythology. After a thousand or so years of separation, the inhabitants of the Realms – wizards, elves, ogres, hobgoblins, dragons, etc. – once again can invade our world, bringing their magic with them. When that magic is used to commit crimes, Corpus Christi, Texas, police detectives Kat Morales (a human) and her elf partner, Tevis, are called to investigate.

.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website

Studiosee

Amazon

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

PURCHASE LINKS:

shadowpath_cover[1]Amazon US

Amazon UK

Barnes & Noble

.

.

Stormcaller_coverAmazon US

Amazon UK

Barnes & Noble

.

.

Deathtalker book coverAmazon US

Amazon UK

Barnes & Noble

.

.

Note– Mistress of the Dark Path reviews of all of these books can be found here.


~ by Suzie on March 22, 2013.

7 Responses to “PL Blair author interview”

  1. Not only a great author, but a wonderful person as well. Glad to see her recognized!

  2. Thanks, Shirley, for stopping by. And thank you, Suzie, for hosting me today! I got a chuckle from your Homeland Security comment, because – as I’ve gone through the Internet looking for some of that stuff – I’ve kinda wondered the same thing. I keep waiting for those guys to turn up at my door …

    • You are most welcome, PL. I feel you on Homeland Security. With my husband’s soon to be former nationality we are in even more danger of that.

  3. Awesome interview and an awesome person. Very glad to see P.L. recognized.

  4. Kellie … Thank you! And thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

 
