Review for “Twice Tempted” by Jeaniene Frost


Twice Tempted book coverI’ve been meaning to get this review posted for a while now, but with so much going on hadn’t had a chance to get to it.  Some of you have probably already read the book and are more than welcome to discuss your own thoughts in the comments section.  For those who haven’t tried the Night Prince series, you’re seriously missing out.

On a bright note, it won’t cost you much to rectify that horrible mistake.  At the time of this review the first novel, Once Burned, is only $1.99 and Twice Tempted is only $3.49.  You definitely can’t beat that for a trad published book.  To help you along, I have the review to the first novel in the series here.  Now on to the second…

Book Summary from author’s website:

Leila’s psychic abilities have been failing. If that weren’t enough, Vlad has been acting distant. Though Leila is a mere mortal, she’s also a modern woman who refuses to accept the cold shoulder forever–especially from the darkly handsome vampire who still won’t admit that he loves her.

Review:

I must admit I grabbed this book as soon as it came up on iTunes (Apple makes books available three hours earlier for release day than Amazon does and I’m impatient).  As most regulars on the blog know, Jeaniene Frost is one of my favorite authors and one of the only ones where I can read her books multiple times without getting tired of them.  Twice Tempted was a long wait, but worth the extra time the author put into it.

One of my favorite elements to this latest novel was the push-pull between Vlad and Leila.  They both took a stand on how they felt and refused to back down (I won’t spoil what the issue was).  While you want to get annoyed at Vlad for his end of things, it created just the right amount of angst between the couple to make for a great story without going overboard.  Plus his reasoning was eventually justified and made sense from his point of view.  I could also totally relate to how Leila felt.  As a woman of the twenty-first century she did what she thought was right and in her shoes I’d probably have done the same thing.  The way she and Vlad battled things out reminded me of the good old days from early Night Huntress novels.  I’d missed that element and was glad to see this kind of conflict come up in a Night Prince book.

As for action and character development, there was plenty of that too.  The reader will get to learn a bit more about Vlad’s past and how that has shaped him.  Leila proves herself resourceful when things get tough and does some growing in this book as she gets deeper into the vampire world.  The fight scenes were great and had some interesting twists.  Vlad meted out his usual harsh punishments (such as impaling) to those who crossed him, but for reasons I can’t explain I find his behavior highly amusing. I also enjoyed a couple of brief appearances with Mencheres and one with Cat (Bones was barely in there, sad to say).

The one thing that held me back on this book is the villain.  I can’t say who that is since it’s part of the mystery not revealed until much later in the story, but it was a tired plot device and not one I’ve ever been that much of a fan of.  This is an author with an amazing imagination who really knows how to keep things interesting.  I’d just expected something a bit more original and exciting.  Having said that, this was still a great book and kept my attention throughout.  Jeaniene Frost at her worst is still leaps and bounds above most writers.

I’m definitely looking forward to the next novel in the Night Prince series whenever it comes out (the next book to be released by the author is a Night Huntress novel, which I’m anticipating just as much).  There is definitely more to look forward to.  Four whips for Twice Tempted!

WhipWhipWhipWhip

~ by Suzie on April 7, 2013.

4 Responses to “Review for “Twice Tempted” by Jeaniene Frost”

  1. I agree with you on the villain – and I thought their motivation was not 100% believable given their personality/motivation on other things. How’s that for vague and non-spoilerish?

    I also felt the ending was abrupt. I kept turning the Kindle pages, wondering where the rest of the book went to. I know there is another in the wings, but there seemed to be no transition out of the novel. Like someone in editing just chopped the last five or ten pages off and sent it to press. It was strange.

    That said, Jeaniene Frost writes a sex scene like nobody’s business – steamy with lots of tension, and great romantic elements. She does a great job with PNR – love her books!

    • lol, Debra. This was a tough review to write without revealing major spoilers. The ending was fine for me, though it definitely left me wanting more. You are right that Jeaniene has some hot sex scenes. I have a bad habit of skimming those for a lot of PNR because most read the same, but never with her books. They are always amazing.

  2. I haven’t read it yet, though I intend to. Honestly, the book description feels very flat and hasn’t piqued my interest, which is probably why I’m not in that big of a hurry to read it. Your review conveys more excitement. 😉

    • You should definitely read it when you get a chance, Angela, though you might take advantage and at least grab the novel while it’s on sale. That’s a really good price for Harper Collins.

Leave a Reply

 
