Review of “Losing Me, Finding You” by C.M. Stunich (New Adult Romance)


Today I’m posing my review of a new adult erotic romance for you all, Losing Me, Finding You, by C.M. Stunich.  Lately I’ve been on a kick where I need to mix up the paranormal/fantasy books with something different and biker romances seem to do the trick.  This novel is New Adult, so it was a little out of my comfort zone, but I did enjoy it and think many others will as well.  Not to mention that it has one of the hottest covers I’ve ever seen.  Admittedly, that’s what first drew me to the book.  If this looks like it might interest you, keep in mind the author has it on sale through to September 9th for 99 cents so don’t miss your chance to grab it.

.

Losing Me Finding You coverBOOK SUMMARY FROM AMAZON:

‘Losing Me, Finding You’, (Triple M Series, Book #1)
a New Adult/Biker/Contemporary Romance Erotica Novel Recommended for Ages 18 and Up

.

“Austin Sparks crushes me against the pool table with his hips, the roughness of his jeans rubbing against the smoothness of my thighs as he pushes up my skirt with his warm hands.
‘Get ready for this, beautiful.’ “

Twenty-one year old Amy Cross’s idea of a hot Saturday night is curling up with her favorite book boyfriend and secretly sneaking a bottle of her mother’s wine. That is, until she meets Austin Sparks, the biker boy with a past that burns like fire and a gaze she can’t look away from. Without knowing what she’s doing or why she’s doing it, Amy ends up on the road with Austin traveling from one city to another while learning things she’s only ever read about in romance novels.

At first it seems like Austin is Amy’s fantasy come true, but as their journey progresses, she starts to sense that Austin is running away from something. Amy knows that she’ll do whatever it takes to help him find himself. What she doesn’t expect is that she’ll lose herself in the process and how good it will feel to be free.

.

PURCHASE LINK

Amazon

.

MY REVIEW:

I’m going to put a disclaimer first and say I usually don’t read YA and I’m only now trying New Adult to see if I like it better. The drawback to this is the main character in this novel, Amy, has the mindset of a young teenager, rather than the twenty-one year old she is. This made it particularly difficult for me to relate to her, though there is a reasonable explanation for her being the way she is that comes out as the story unfolds. I did appreciate her subtle strength and thought she grew to be rather likeable.  The main thing was I eventually had to skip her “book boyfriend” talk because it wasn’t all that appealing for me (though some readers seem to like it).  I wanted to see the real romance with Austin develop more than read what was going on with the fictitious guys in her favorite novels.

Austin was described as a hot, bad boy (my favorite kind), but I had some difficulty believing this about him. For most of the novel the only really naughty thing he did was have wild sex in places that aren’t the most traditional. You don’t learn until closer to the end about some of the things he’s keeping from Amy and by then it was hard to change my impression of him. I did like him, though, and really felt the strong chemistry between him and the heroine.  Their relationship felt real to me in a way I rarely experience in books.  Plus I really liked the way he took care of Amy, despite his reluctance to get caught up in anything serious.

The thing that really kept me going in the novel was the actual story telling. C.M. Stunich has a way of drawing you into the world she creates. I felt invested enough that I just had to find out how things would go despite my issues with the characters. The last twenty percent really grabbed me and had to be the best part. “Losing Me, Finding You” doesn’t have the most complicated plot, but the author’s writing is strong enough that I’d definitely read more by her in the future. Plus that cover really is hot!!

If you’re a new adult fan, you’ll probably enjoy this one.  It’s got all the ingredients for young, forbidden love and some action and danger to keep things interesting.  I give this one 3.5 whips!

.

WhipWhipWhipWhip half

~ by Suzie on September 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
