Book Tour for Pure and Sinful by Killian Mcrae with review


I have a paranormal novel for you all today, Pure and Sinful, by Killian Mcrae.  It’s labeled as PNR, but I’d say it’s more of an urban fantasy romance after reading it myself.  Check out all the detail on the book below as well as my review.  For lovers of either genre, this is one new series you don’t want to miss!

.

Pure and Sinful Banner 450 x 169

.

PURE AND SINFUL

by Killian McRae

.

pnsprevcoverBLURB:

When it turns out your ex was actually a sexy demon sent by the devil to seduce you to evil, you’d think the next guy, no matter what he’s like, couldn’t be a worse decision. Enter Father Marc Angeletti, a smooth talking piece of forbidden fruit with onyx eyes and a razor wit, and Riona Dade may as well start packing her luggage for damnation now. But come Hell or… well, Hell, Marc, Riona, and demigod Dee Zitka have a mission: serve as a Pure Soul and vanquish Lucifer’s minion scum from the face of the Earth to protect humanity from evil.

Oh, and don’t get seduced into sin yourself, because a fallen Pure Soul is one of Lucifer’s biggest thrills. As long as Riona and Marc can keep things professional and north of the sheets, no problem, right?

Yeah, that worked out great in the Thornbirds, too…
.

Pure and Sinful
Pure Souls Book One
Killian Mcrae

Genre: paranormal romance
Publisher: Tulipe Noire Press
ASIN: B0096SYZMG
ISBN-13: 9780983979784
.

~~~~~~~~~~

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon   BN  Amazon Print

~~~~~~~~~~

.

AUTHOR PICAUTHOR BIO:

Killian McRae would tell you that she is a rather boring lass, an authoress whose characters’ lives are so much more exciting than her own. She would be right. Sadly, this sarcastic lexophile leads a rather mundane existence in the San Francisco Bay Area.

She once dreamed of being the female Indiana Jones, and to that end she earned a degree in Middle Eastern History from the University of Michigan. However, when she learned that real archaeologist spend more time lovingly removing dust with toothbrushes from shards of pottery than outrunning intriguing villains with exotic accents, she decided to become a writer instead.

She writes across many genres, including science fiction, fantasy, romance, and historical fiction.

facebook fan page:  http://www.facebook.com/authorkillianmcrae

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15845662-pure-sinful

twitter: @killianmcrae

website: www.killianmcrae.com

google+: https://plus.google.com/107071172289770407340/posts

youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/killianmcrae

.
~~~~~~~~~~
.

MY REVIEW:

I’m going to admit this is one book I wasn’t sure if I was going to like at first.  The beginning has a major action scene with a lot going on that didn’t fully make sense until later in the story, but it was so intense that was difficult to look away from.  I was also not expecting as many POV switches as there were.  It often took me a moment to figure whose head I was in because there wasn’t much of a warning, but it did allow for me to get to know the other characters better.  Plus, once I got into the flow of the author’s writing things really got interesting.

There’s a trio of characters who work together to vanquish demons, plus they get their guidance from an archangel.  Every one of them definitely had their own personality and I grew to like them all.  The author did a nice job of developing them.  I did have a couple of issues with the main female character, Riona, though.  She had a lot of Mary Sue in her (not 100%, but close).  By that, I mean she had the amazing looks with perfect body (of course her breasts were D cups despite being slim), it seemed just about every man and woman wanted her (human, angel, demon, and possibly demi-God), she had abilities that surpassed anything seen before for a person in her position, and there was the required prophecy she must fulfill.  It was like checking off the typical Mary Sue list.

So what saved the story for me?  There was hardly a dull moment, so it stayed action-packed and kept my attention.  The plot took lots of twists and turns.  Things never went quite like I expected them to.  I also really enjoyed the various demon-vanquishing jobs the team had to go on.  Watching them work together during some rather crazy situations, and while being relatively new as a team, was fun to see.  There were also some definite humorous moments that kept the story from being too dark.  I laughed out loud a few times and found the characters’ quirky senses of humor to be great.

There was a lot of sexual tension between Riona and most of the other characters, but it wasn’t a big sex-fest or anything.  You can mostly expect a lot of kissing and some petting.  If you prefer a clean book, you probably won’t like this one, but I’d be wondering why you’d pick up a novel with the title Pure and Sinful if you did expect that.  It’s got some hot characters and, other than their attraction seeming to be mostly directed toward one, it didn’t bother me at all.  If anything, it was rather hot.

Oh, and that ending.  I’ll definitely be picking up the next book as I’m now invested in the series and want to know what will happen next.  Thankfully, the sequel Once You Go Demon is out and available for purchase.  So I admit I had a few things that niggled at me, but somehow I grew to love the book all the same.  It’s fun and different from a lot of other novels in the genre in the sense of its world-building and plot.  Plus I appreciated the quick pacing and the constant surprises.  If you enjoy urban fantasy romance, definitely give this one a try.  I’m certainly glad I did.  Four whips for Pure and Sinful!

WhipWhipWhipWhip.

.

.

.

.

Note- I received a free electronic copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

~ by Suzie on September 20, 2013.

One Response to “Book Tour for Pure and Sinful by Killian Mcrae with review”

  1. Definitely sounds intriguing, Susan! This is one I just may go looking for …

Leave a Reply

 
