Ten Ways to Seduce a Soldier Through Letters- guest post by Bethanne Strasser


I’d like to welcome Bethanne Strasser to the blog today.  She recently released a contemporary romance titled Letters From Home about a woman in the army who is deployed to Afghanistan and falls for a guy who’s writing her while there.  This looks like one sweet story and you can expect a review from me soon.

In the meantime, check out her guest post where she discusses how one would go about seducing a soldier through letters.  As a female veteran, I must admit I really enjoyed it and think you will too.  Be sure to check out more details on her book later in this post.  There is also a tour wide giveaway of the following item:

.

Dogtag necklace with the Hero and heroine’s name on it and 12.25.4ever

LFH_swag_giveaway

.

Click on the Rafflecopter link for your chance to win!

www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba112f455

.

~~~~~~~~~~

.

Ten Ways to Seduce a Female Soldier Through Letters

Funniest thing, when asked to compile a list of ways to seduce a woman through letters, is that I had no clue! I’d just written an entire story based on the idea that some guy made my heroine fall madly in love with him, but when I sat, I couldn’t think…
What did he say?
How did he do it?
But, after a while, I took my thinking cap off. And I remembered all the letters my husband and I wrote to each other while he was away. He would write to the kids too, and with time being so short and precious, sometimes just the kids would get a letter or just I would get a letter. One time, in the envelope addressed to the kids was a little note marked, “Give to Mom.”
I didn’t recognize it at first, but when I unfolded the small yellow piece of paper, my own handwriting was at the top.

.
It seems like an eternity since Monday. I can’t talk too long, but wanted to let you know I love you…
          Stacy focused.
          Keep Praying.
                   Bethanne

.
He’d written below my words,

This type of letter means more to me than you could ever know. You are the love of my life.

.

*sniff* Okay, yes. It still gets me…and is in my wallet where it will stay for the ever-loving rest of my life.

I’m going to start, you finish in the comments…what can a man write in a letter to completely and utterly seduce a woman—soldier or not:

.
1) Heart on the sleeve!!
2) Knowledge. A woman wants a man who KNOWS her, really knows her. Knows if she’s lonely without her having to write it down. Knows that all the stupid shit she’s writing about what happened that day is merely a front to hide her weakness—missing and loving him.
3) Honesty. A man who shares his secrets, his desires, his struggles…even if that merely means he spends a paragraph talking about how he drove past the park where they met and just stopped, right there on the side of the road—not able to move forward or backward because of the sudden feeling that half of him was missing.
4) Good humor. Let’s face it. We all want a guy we can laugh with…and there is nothing better than a good line or two of sexual innuendo to beef up the tension. And don’t we all know that ANYTHING can be sexually implied? 😀 If we can do it in a text, we can do it in a letter. 😉
5) Don’t forget the small things… like sending her that ticket stub from the baseball game he took her to last summer. The one where they sat up in the nose bleed seats to save a few dollars, and when their team started losing (big time), they did what any red-blooded American couple would do—make out. Make her think about it!
6) Photographs. Let’s be honest, number six could get a little racy, and maybe a woman wouldn’t mind a racy photo or two to hide in a secret spot—a locker or a desk, under the pillow. But, I think even more seductive than that would be that long lost picture he found of them together…because he was going through the old box of photos. He’d needed her, needed to remember the connection they had—and in needing it, he is definitely seducing her.

.
JUMPING INTO THE STORY: How was Lena SEDUCED? It’s easy to seduce a woman you know, a woman you have history with… a wife, girlfriend, best friend. In Letters From Home, Lena is seduced by a stranger.

.
1) Right away, Lena knew this guy knew her. He delivered home to her on the front lines. With every letter, every little anecdote, she was given a gift of home to savor until the next letter arrived. Somehow, he knew what a soldier needed.
2) In one letter, Zack described to her the first time he ever saw her. She’d been seven, fighting a bully on the playground at school. He’d been mesmerized by her guts, her spirit.
3) Finally, in one letter, he took two pages to tell her all the ways he wanted to kiss her when she came home. From their first meeting on Christmas morning at the gazebo…. to every spot they’d ever hung out together, the old swimming hole down by the river, in the bleachers where they’d spent every Friday night from September to November watching the high school football games, the swing on her parents’ back porch. From her lips, to that soft spot just behind her knee, and everywhere in between….

Yup. Phew! [getting a head of myself] I think that’ll do it!! 😀

.

~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks, Bethanne, for being kind enough to write such a great post.  I’d have to add that offering back rubs when I returned to the states would be a good way to seduce me.  It sure would have helped relieved some of the built-up stress!

~~~~~~~~~~

.

Flirtline Tour Banner 450 x 169

.

LETTERS FROM HOME

by Bethanne Strasser

.

18761357BLURB:

An Army doctor, Lena Rodriguez has always been too busy with school or the Army for romance. But the letters she received during deployment have captured her heart. Back home for the holidays, she awaits Christmas morning to meet the man who has turned her life upside down.

When Zack Benson watched his best friend’s sister Lena leave for Afghanistan, he knew he had to tell her he loved her. So he sent her anonymous love letters. Now that she’s home, he realizes he’s made a tactical error. Lena has fallen for the man in those letters but still thinks of him as a brother. He has to convince her otherwise because if he succeeds, he’ll get the best Christmas present ever. But if he fails, he could lose her for good.
.

~~~~~~~~~~

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon     B&N

~~~~~~~~~~

.

Bethane Strasser author picAUTHOR BIO:

I strive to live my dreams.

A couple of years ago, my husband took that step and joined the Army. An accountant by trade and finally fed up with a life that aggravated and frustrated…always reaching for the almighty dollar, he came to me and said, what if I join the Army?

Sure! Please, join the Army. I want my happy husband back. 😀 I took my cue from him. Though writing has been a part of my life for a long time, my drive had settled in to an easy-going 55 mph. Not too fast, not too slow, with an occasional burst of speed to thrill me.

I write romance–suspense, contemporary, and an occasional paranormal. My stories are full of life, family, and love. I write a lot. I have a lot to share. I love stories that encompass the world. You can find me reading just about any genre of romance, but my favorites are fast-paced suspense, where life is on the line and love is the only saving grace. I want a book that makes my heart pound and my pulse race.

Website: http://www.bethannestrasser.blogspot.com

Blog: http://www.throughheartshapedglasses.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Bethanne_writes

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bstrasser35

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6094582.Bethanne_Strasser

.

~ by Suzie on December 9, 2013.

9 Responses to “Ten Ways to Seduce a Soldier Through Letters- guest post by Bethanne Strasser”

  1. Oh, see!! A backrub is a great idea! And I didn’t think of that… doh! 😀 Thanks for having me over and hosting the blog tour.

  2. Aww…so sweet! Yeah, sounds like Zack definitely said all the right things!

  3. Such a surprise this concept would appeal to you …

Leave a Reply

 
