Ten things to know about life in the bayou- guest post by Susan C. Muller


Author Susan C. Muller is with us today as part of the tour for her latest paranormal romantic suspense novel, Voodoo on Bayou Lafonte.  She’s going to tell us some interesting facts about the bayou as well as things her main character has learned about life while living there.  Be sure to check it out and see if you might learn something too!

.

Voodoo On Bayou LaFonte Banner 450 x 169

.

VOODOO ON BAYOU LAFONTE

by Susan C. Muller

.

Take it away, Susan

.

Thanks so much for inviting me to share your blog today. With the release of my new novel, Voodoo on Bayou Lafonte, I thought your readers might be interested in some things my hero, Remy Steinberg, learned about life, love, voodoo, and the swamp.

.
1.   For maximum protection, wear your gris-gris bag around your neck at all times, no matter how bad it smells.
As teenagers, Remy and Gabby believed the old wives’ tale that gris-gris bags prevented conception. That’s how they got a baby daughter and ended up married two days after high school graduation.

2.    Biology makes you a father, love makes you a parent. Remy might not have been the best father in the world, but when Gabby called to tell him their daughter was in trouble, he came running. The hardest part was knowing that once he found Adrienne, Gabby would send him home and he’d have to learn to live without her again.

3.    Air boats are faster than skiffs when traveling through the bayou, but they are louder and lack reverse. That might be a problem if you are trying to sneak up on kidnappers. So, which is better if the bad guys have a head start?

4.    Poppets are the dolls used in voodoo ceremonies. They might have strands of hair or pieces of cloth used by the person they represent. These poppets should be anointed with Holy Water and blessed with healing prayers. Unless the owner practices a different type of voodoo.

5.    Wearing a bright pink, Hello Kitty backpack while stealing a boat guarded by the police, might not be a good idea. If you have an ex-wife who is sexy and cleaver and knows how to cause a distraction, you have a better chance.

6.    Papa Legba is a benevolent patriarch in voodoo. He is an old man with a cane who carries the keys to Heaven and dispenses destiny. His symbol is a stylized cross denoting the intersection of the spiritual world and the material one.

7.    You can give an alligator a name, but that doesn’t make him a pet. Remy is terrified of the swamp and all the critters that live there ever since he was lost in the depths of the bayou overnight while a young boy. He never expected help rescuing his daughter from a behemoth of a gator named Alfred.

8.    Along the Gulf coast, a high pressure system can turn into a tropical storm and then into a hurricane that will twist and turn and head your direction without notice. A hero is a man who goes out regardless of any danger when someone’s life depends on him.

9.    When stealing a boat from a man who holds a grudge and taking off into the swamp at night, during a hurricane, try not to lose your compass or run out of gas. With Remy and Adrienne in danger, Gabby must dig deep to find a way to help them. Does she have what it takes to save them?

10.    When true love wraps itself around your heart, time and distance don’t matter. Remy and Gabby fell in love at fifteen, but he needed to leave and she needed to stay. Can love change those two facts?

.
Have you ever done anything that terrified you? Would you do it again?

.

~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks, Susan, for being awesome enough to write such a great post.  It’s probably best that I don’t answer your question, though.  I’m one of those strange people who loves doing things that scare me.  To everyone else, check out all the details about Susan’s latest book below and be sure to grab your copy!

~~~~~~~~~~

.

Voodoo on Bayou Lafonte coverBLURB:

A frantic phone call leads Detective Remy Steinberg racing through the night toward the one place he vowed never to return. With the life of his kidnapped daughter at stake, he willingly faces shotgun-wielding drug dealers, corrupt law-enforcement officials, and a raging hurricane.

Scouring the seedy back alleys of New Orleans for information, he goes undercover at a sinister voodoo ceremony, and struggles to understand the forces of black magic that hold his daughter hostage.

With time ticking down, he battles for his life against a high voodoo priest, but can he face the two things he fears most: the swamp that terrorized his childhood, and the ex-wife he’s never stopped loving?

Detective Remy Steinberg must return to Louisiana in search of his kidnapped daughter. Can he save her before the swamp swallows her up and he loses any chance at happiness?
.

Voodoo on Bayou Lafonte
Occult Series
Book 3
Susan C. Muller

Genre: Paranormal romantic suspense
Publisher:  Soul Mate Publishing
Date of Publication: December 18, 2013

Word Count: 80,000
Cover Artist: Rae Monet
.

~~~~~~~~~~

PURCHASE LINK

Amazon

~~~~~~~~~~

.

author picAUTHOR BIO:

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a fourth generation Texan and I attended Stephen F. Austin State University where I majored in Business Administration, but took creative writing classes on the side because that’s where my heart was.
I have always loved reading and if it’s true that God doesn’t subtract the hours you spend reading from your life span, then I should pass the century mark with flying colors. I first tried my hand at writing when I was eleven, but the sun was shining and I had a new bike so that effort was doomed to failure.

I didn’t try writing again until I was well into my sixties. People ask me why I took it up then and my answer is simple, because my husband retired. If you don’t understand, just wait, you will.

My first novel, The Secrets on Forest Bend, won several awards. After that, I was hooked.

I’ve been blessed with two great kids and four grandkids. My late husband and I loved to travel and we saw much of the world. Kenya, New Zealand, and the Galapagos Islands are a few of my favorite places. After he passed, I thought my traveling days were over, yet I’ve since been to Argentina, Brazil, and Venezuela.

I live in Spring, Texas where I currently serve as president of the Northwest Houston chapter of RWA and volunteer at a local hospital. I also enjoy speaking to book clubs and writers groups.

www.susancmuller.com

https://www.facebook.com/SusanCMuller

Twitter: @susancmuller

~ by Suzie on January 16, 2014.

2 Responses to “Ten things to know about life in the bayou- guest post by Susan C. Muller”

  1. Thanks for inviting me on your blog, and I’m guessing not many things scare you!

Leave a Reply

 
