Blog tour for “Dangerously Hers” by A.M. Griffin with author interview and book review


Today I have A.M. Griffin here with us to tell us a little about herself and her latest book, Dangerously Hers.  This is a hot sci-fi romance I enjoyed reading and think others will too.  After checking out the author’s interview, be sure to see my review at the end of this post.

As a bonus, the author will be awarding a Grand Prize of a handmade bookmark, signed cover flat, pens, flash drive, keylight key chain, a Loving Dangerously t-shirt, a signed copy of Fondled and Gobbled and a $20 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour (US ONLY).  Plus, a runner’s up prize of a $20 Amazon GC will be awarded to one randomly drawn commenter during the tour.  For your chance to win, be sure to click on the Rafflecopter link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/9376b610

To increase your chances of winning, be sure to visit the other tour stops along the way and leave a comment.  You can find a list of them by clicking on the banner below.

.

VBT_DangerouslyHers_Banner.

DANGEROUSLY HERS

by A.M. Griffin

.

INTERVIEW:

*Note- my responses to the author’s answers are in italics.

Tell us something dark about yourself.

Dark? Hmmm… I’m not a saint. There are no birds serenading me as I skip through the forest, but I don’t think I have anything dark about me. Pretty typical mommy and wife. I believe in karma so I don’t wish bad things on people, even my enemies. Wishes and thoughts can come to light, so I try to keep my wishes and thoughts good and positive. There’s always a little light, even on a dark path…

.

Ah, not so much as a secret addiction to some kind of candy?  Maybe a thrill of satisfaction if you kill a spider who invaded your home?  There’s all kinds of answers that don’t necessarily mean “bad”!

You are on a deserted island and can only choose one beverage to have besides water.  What would it be?

Moscato. If I’m drunk maybe I won’t mind being eaten by wild animals as much.

.

Or to pass the time.  I haven’t decided if there will be any dangerous animals on this hypothetical island, but you’ll certainly have to find some way to pass the long hours of the day 🙂

If you had to choose between a bullwhip, cat o’ nine tails, or a crop, which would you pick?

Uh, none! I do not indulge in pain. Not even a little pain with pleasure. Sorry Mistress, but I’m kinda a wimp when it comes to stuff like that *shivers*

.

Hey, I didn’t say it had to be used on you…

What mythical creature would you be and why?

A vampire. Is that a mythical creature *shrugs*. I want to be a vampire but only on my terms. I don’t want some head vampire bringing me down in a dark alley or making me his vampire slave. I want to be a vampire with some stipulations though. I have to take my kids with though, although I’d be having dying a little with worry every day, afraid that they would hurt themselves before I could turn them. A selfish now that I think about it. LOL

.

I don’t think most kids these days would mind being turned into a vampire.  It would certainly be better to spend eternity with ones you loved.  Unless you watch that show “Originals” where it doesn’t seem to have worked out too well.

What first inspired you to write your book?

I didn’t set out to write Jess’ story. I was trying to write another story, but Jess, being the strong willed woman that she is, kept forcing herself into all the scenes and made everything about her. There was no way of getting around this girl. I was starting to get upset and then finally decided to write a novella, maybe 15k words, just to get her story told and be done with it and move on. But once I started telling her story, I mean delving into her life. I knew she deserved more than I was giving her credit for. I’m so glad that I did it. I really liked how Jess turned out in the end and I don’t think anyone could have handled her but Rasha. They are perfect for each other.

.

Having read the book, I must agree.  Jess definitely has a strong personality you can’t ignore.

How long did it take to research/write it?

That’s the beauty about science-fiction. Everything that I write about is in my head. I use my imagination a lot. But to make sure I’m staying true to my world building I do have to follow a spreadsheet aptly named “Bible”. It didn’t take long to write Jess and Rasha’s story. I think most of the time was spent trying not to write it. I was supposed to be writing JB and Saia’s story, but Jess kept taking over. It took about a month and a half of me fighting with her, telling her “this story does not belong to you” before I finally gave in.

.

Sometimes, books really are meant to be.

Give one unique fact about your novel that makes it different from the others in its genre.

My hero, Rasha is an alien, so with him there isn’t the typical wooing of hearts that you would typically find in a romance. Although, he tries and even gets some pointers from humans, he really doesn’t get it. Wooing is really a human trait. Rasha wants Jess and he goes after her head first, almost literally (this is an erotica so get your mind in the gutter. LOL)

.

My mind is almost always in the gutter, not to worry 🙂

.

~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to A.M. Griffin for being here today and for participating in this interview.  It was great to see her answers to some of my more tough questions!  For everyone else, please check out all the information about her and her book below.  Feel free to ask your own questions if you have any.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

.

AuthorPicAUTHOR BIO:

A. M. Griffin is a wife who rarely cooks, mother of three, dog owner (and sometimes dog owned), a daughter, sister, aunt and friend. She’s a hard worker whose two favorite outlets are reading and writing. She enjoys reading everything from mystery novels to historical romances and of course fantasy romance. She is a believer in the unbelievable, open to all possibilities from mermaids in our oceans and seas, angels in the skies and intelligent life forms in distant galaxies.

Find Me Here

Website: http://www.amgriffinbooks.com

Amazon Page: http://www.amazon.com/A.M.-Griffin/e/B00APK4V4G/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1380414029&sr=1-2-ent

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/amgriffinbooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AMGriffinbooks

Blog: http://amgriffinbooks.blogspot.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/amgriffinbooks

Join me on Triberr! http://triberr.com/AMGriffin
.

~~~~~~~~~~

.

Cover_Dangerously HersBLURB:

Loving Dangerously, Book Three Jess hates aliens. After the invasion that destroyed Earth, the extraterrestrial bastards sold her to a brothel as a sex slave. She may have escaped but the old memories and fears still linger in the dark corners of her mind. Supposedly Sonis is just the place for her—somewhere safe, where she can heal and start fresh. She’s almost hopeful…until she meets Rasha, her new boss.

Rasha, Captain of the Sonis Royal Guard, is a warrior through and through. He’s huge, sinfully sexy and could have any woman on Sonis—but the woman he wants is Jess. He’s very much an alien and Jess knows she should hate him or at least be wary, but whenever he’s around, she loses control. She tells herself it’s only sex—amazing, mind-blowing sex like nothing else she’s ever experienced—but there’s something about Rasha that shakes her soul. The feel of his skin against hers, the look in his eyes as he touches her—they make her want to believe it’s possible to find love and begin again.

A Romantica® science fiction erotic romance from Ellora’s Cave
.

~~~~~~~~~~

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon     Ellora’s Cave

~~~~~~~~~~

.

MY REVIEW:

Every so often I get a urgent need to dip my toes into the sci-fi romance waters.  It can often be hit and miss with the genre, but one thing I do know is the story has to be hot and passionate for me to enjoy it.  I’m thankful to say Dangerously Hers didn’t let me down.  The main character, Jess, is well-developed and someone that despite her unusual circumstances is surprisingly relatable.  She’s been through some horrible things and she may lash out as a defense mechanism, but there’s a real woman who feels love and pain inside.

When she meets Rasha, she’s still dealing with a horrific past and has no desire to befriend any non-humans, much less get romantically involved with one.  That doesn’t stop this hot male alien from trying, though.  I really enjoyed Rasha’s willingness to go the extra mile in seducing Jess.  They hit it off fairly fast, but there was still plenty of struggling before things settled at the end.  I honestly loved watching Jess fight her attraction while trying to build a new life for herself.

The world-building is well done with this book and actually felt rather plausible.  I haven’t read the other books that came before this one, but I never felt lost.  The author gave enough information to help the reader get their bearings, yet there were no major info dumps to slow things down.  She sprinkled the information in when the reader needed it, but otherwise got on with the story.  Just the way I like it!

The only thing I could have wished for is more time to watch Rasha and Jess’s relationship develop.  There was no denying their chemistry, as that was apparent, but I would have liked to see a little more depth in the plot.  Rasha’s former lover as the main antagonizing force against them (other than Jess’s own reluctance) didn’t work for me.  It wasn’t fully fleshed out and felt a bit shallow.  Perhaps something involving his job or family might have worked better and would have helped give more insight into Rasha.  Having said that, I still really enjoyed the story as a whole and was really glad to have read it.

A.M. Griffin has certainly gone on my list of “go-to” sci-fi romance authors.  She knows how to spin a story that has action, humor, and a love that beats all the odds.  For fans of the genre, this is certainly an author you don’t want to miss.  Four whips for Dangerously Hers!

.

Note- I received a free ecopy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

WhipWhipWhipWhip

~ by Suzie on January 20, 2014.

2 Responses to “Blog tour for “Dangerously Hers” by A.M. Griffin with author interview and book review”

  1. Thanks for hosting!

  2. “There’s always a little light, even on a dark path…” Loved this quote. I think I will also love, “Dangerously Hers” Rasha and Jess’ story looks to be just the alien ticket to a good sci-fi romance read.

Leave a Reply

 
