Review of Motorcycle Man by Kristen Ashley


I am going to admit right off that I’m woefully behind on posting reviews outside of book tours where I have to stay on schedule for them.  There are many books I’ve read in recent months that deserve a chance in the spotlight.  In order to make time, I’ve lessened the number of tours I participate in now in the hopes of putting out more reviews here on the blog for novels I’ve picked up on my own.  Today is the first one of many I’ll be squeezing in.

For those that enjoy contemporary romance and haven’t got into the motorcycle club theme yet, you really should.  If you’ve been watching Sons of Anarchy and love it, then definitely get with the program and check this novel out as your first foray.  You all know I don’t read much contemporary, but this was just the thing to get me back into it.  The danger, naughtiness, and excitement I needed and usually only find at acceptable levels in PNR, UF, and erotica is all here.  Below is my review of Motorcycle Man by Kristen Ashley.

.

Motorcycle Man coverBLURB FROM AMAZON:

Get ready to ride . . .

Tyra Masters has had enough drama to last a lifetime. Now, she’s back on track and looking forward to her new, quiet life. Until she meets the man of her dreams. The tattooed, muscled biker plies her with tequila-and the best sex of her life. She knows it isn’t the tequila and hot sex talking. He’s the kind of man she’s always wanted. Unfortunately, he’s also her new boss . . .

Kane “Tack” Allen has a rule. He doesn’t employ someone he’s slept with. So when he learns he spent last night in bed with his new office manager, he quickly fires Tyra. Yet when Tyra stands up to him and fights for her job, Tack is intrigued. He tells her she can keep her job on one condition: no more sex. Ever. But as things heat up between them, Tack finds that he’ll be the one breaking all the rules…

136,000 words

.

MY REVIEW:

I was in the mood for something different and decided to pick this up. It had me hooked from the start. If you like tough heroes who are protective of their women this is a great pick. The heroine, Tyra, is strong and sticks up for herself, but she also gives in to Tack when he is particularly persistent. I could honestly understand why because there is something so compelling about him. Yes, he can be a jackass at times but he has a good heart underneath the hard exterior. Both Tyra and Tack were well fleshed out and believable despite their backgrounds being so different. Plus there was plenty of action and danger to keep the tempo high as they slowly developed their romance (though the sex starts off quick).

I loved the motorcycle theme. For all that I’m strong and independent, I’m not afraid to indulge in fantasy romances where the guys tend to dominate their women. It’s not like it hurts anything. For those who get easily offended by that stuff this book might not be for you, but most people shouldn’t be bothered by it.  Tack has a sweet side and turns out to be a decent guy despite his lawless ways and rough manner.

All in all, I have no complaints other than some typos here and there but the story was so intense they hardly bothered me.  It was totally different from anything I’d read before and had a flavor of real life that many romances don’t have. This author did a great job of keeping me gripped to the pages and wanting more. I’ll definitely be looking for more books by her.  Five whips for Motorcycle Man!

WhipWhipWhipWhipWhip

~ by Suzie on August 30, 2013.

One Response to “Review of Motorcycle Man by Kristen Ashley”

  1. […] side and turns out to be a decent guy despite his lawless ways and rough manner.” – Mistress of the Dark Path   “Tack. There is no way in hell I should find Tack swoon-worthy. Even if he wears […]

Leave a comment