Favorite Quotes and a Blog Update


I will get the blog updates out of the way first and then we can move on to the subject matter of the day.

First, I have posted a new page covering the basics of the monthly writing contests.  It explains what they are about and the basic rules.  You will also find the names of all finalists and winners for each month it has been held so far.  Links to previous competitions are provided as well.  Anyone who has questions, comments, or suggestions for the contests may leave them on that page.  This is the link- Monthly Writing Contests.

A number of book trailers have been added to the Book Trailer page, but I hope to see more in the future.  They are a great way to bring extra attention to your books.  In the next few days I plan to start imbedding the ones I have onto the appropriate genre pages with the particular book listing they belong to.  If you haven’t posted yours yet, try to do it soon.  Those that don’t have book trailers might consider creating one.  They are easy, fun, and cost little or nothing to make.  I can even point you in the right direction as to who can help you get one!

Okay, onto the actual topic.  This has been covered before, but with all the new followers and books we may have read since then, I thought to come back to this.  I think everyone has quotes they read that are unforgettable.  What are your favorites?  If you have something brilliant you came up with for your own book, it is okay to post that as well.  My only request is that everyone keeps it to no more than three sentences.  I will look forward to seeing what you post!

~ by Suzie on September 15, 2011.

10 Responses to “Favorite Quotes and a Blog Update”

  1. “Love is an irresistible desire to be irresistibly desired.”
    ― Robert Frost

    Always my favorite quote

    Charity Parkerson

  2. Saw this one on Twitter today and had a good laugh:

    “The best substitute for morning coffee is beating the person who forgot to buy more.”
    -Life in the Sandbox (@Lifeinsandbox)

  3. Until one has loved an animal a part of one’s soul remains unawakened.

    Anatole France

  4. “Love is a snowmobile racing across the tundra and then suddenly it flips over, pinning you underneath. At night, the ice weasels come.”
    — Matt Groening

  5. This is one my co-author came up with that pretty much describes Call Sign: Wrecking Crew:

    “That’s why they call us in, we’re expendable, the break glass for emergency or prior to nuclear exchange.”

    From ‘Call Sign: Wrecking Crew (Storm Warning)’

  6. I love quotes. I think you get a good feel for someone’s writing style from them. I have two more for you.

    “Maybe I could interest you in a Vodka sour instead. It causes the same effects as having a husband. First you get a rush of euphoria only to be replaced by regret in the morning.”
    ― Charity Parkerson, The Society of Sinners

    “I think we dream so we don’t have to be apart so long. If we’re in each other’s dreams, we can play together all night.”
    ― Bill Watterson

    I’m having fun following today 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
