Review of “Magic Rises” by Ilona Andrews


The Kate Daniels series is one of my top favorites in urban fantasy so naturally I grabbed this one as soon as it came out.  I’m never disappointed by what comes with each book and have even re-read most of them.  This latest one is definitely as good as its predecessors (review below).  If you enjoy UF, DO NOT miss this one.  I’m only sorry I didn’t have the chance to post the review on my blog until now.

.

Magic-Rises_bgSummary from Amazon:

Atlanta is a city plagued by magical problems. Kate Daniels will fight to solve them—no matter the cost.

Mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate, Curran, the Beast Lord, are struggling to solve a heartbreaking crisis. Unable to control their beasts, many of the Pack’s shapeshifting children fail to survive to adulthood. While there is a medicine that can help, the secret to its making is closely guarded by the European packs, and there’s little available in Atlanta.

Kate can’t bear to watch innocents suffer, but the solution she and Curran have found threatens to be even more painful. The European shapeshifters who once outmaneuvered the Beast Lord have asked him to arbitrate a dispute—and they’ll pay him in medicine. With the young people’s survival and the Pack’s future at stake, Kate and Curran know they must accept the offer—but they have little doubt that they’re heading straight into a trap…

.

My Review:

This book was every bit as good as the previous ones in the series. Plenty of action, a bit of romance, and several really emotional moments. It was good to see Kate, Curran and crew step out of Atlanta and watch how they fared off their home turf. The problems they faced this time around were unlike any that have come before.  Some fans complained of a bit of angst on Kate’s part when it came to Curran, but I understood where she was coming from since they are still new in their relationship and there are some insecurities that probably still need to be worked out.  Curran may have seemed to make a bad choice in what set her off, yet I see why he did it.  In the end, I think they were stronger for what they went through.  I’m being vague, but don’t want to spoil anything!

The battles in this novel were also intense.  I never cease to be amazed at how well they are played out and how they always keep me on the edge of my seat.  The Ilona Andrews author team is quite adept at giving both Kate and Curran their moments of toughness, while also showing they aren’t invincible.  I was sad one of my favorite side characters didn’t survive, but that person’s sacrifice is what made the story feel real and bittersweet.  There was no way they were going to come out of this latest crisis without some loses.

The world-building is expanded even more with a couple of new races that haven’t been seen in earlier installments, along with more of Kate’s family history.  Expect growth for many of the characters as well.  I loved watching some of the folks from Kate and Curran’s crew having to work together under rather difficult circumstances.  Not only that, but you just know this segment is leading up to something even bigger.  I can’t imagine most fans will be disappointed with this book. The only bad part is waiting for the next.  I give Magic Rises five whips!

.

WhipWhipWhipWhipWhip

~ by Suzie on October 21, 2013.

5 Responses to “Review of “Magic Rises” by Ilona Andrews”

  1. I’m only on book 2 of the Kate Daniels series. If I wasn’t so busy I would be right up to date with you here, cos this is the good stuff. Good review too.

  2. This series is one of my absolute favorite series. I reread the whole series every time a new book comes out. Absolutely worth the five whips!

    • Totally agree, Helle. I actually enjoy the books more each time I re-read them. You understand the world and characters better after you’ve gone through the series the first time so when you go back through a lot of things become clearer and that much more entertaining.

Leave a Reply

 
